Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Member
5dunhams
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-03-2013
Message 1 of 34 (4,094 Views)

Installing Revit Error

4094 Views, 33 Replies
06-03-2013 07:58 PM

While installing Revit 2014 Student Version I get the error the media does not contain content and will be downlaoded during instalation while configuring the installation. It "installs" but says some products failed to install. Both Revit and the Materials Library failed to install. Any idea how to fix?

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,439
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 2 of 34 (4,079 Views)

Re: Installing Revit Error

06-04-2013 07:44 AM in reply to: 5dunhams

You'll have to post your installation log to help determine the failure.

Member
5dunhams
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-03-2013
Message 3 of 34 (4,069 Views)

Re: Installing Revit Error

06-04-2013 03:00 PM in reply to: TravisNave
*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,439
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 4 of 34 (4,065 Views)

Re: Installing Revit Error

06-04-2013 03:02 PM in reply to: 5dunhams

Error 1618 is one of those weird ones where the installer thinks another installation is already in progress.  You might reboot and try the installation again. 

 

 

Member
5dunhams
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-03-2013
Message 5 of 34 (4,027 Views)

Re: Installing Revit Error

06-06-2013 05:33 PM in reply to: TravisNave

I have restarted the computer, intalled all windows updates and closed every other program and it still wont install

Employee
tony.michniewicz
Posts: 151
Registered: ‎11-29-2001
Message 6 of 34 (4,017 Views)

Re: Installing Revit Error

06-07-2013 06:11 AM in reply to: 5dunhams

As Travis noted, the 1618 error typically occurs when Windows views another installation process as active.  A good way to test this would be to create a new Windows user account, then reboot, log into the new account and run the installation.  Prior to trying this, I would recommend running Microsoft FixIt to ensure that Windows does not consider Revit to be installed already.  I would also recommend deleting the contents of the Windows temp folder, which can be accessed by typing %temp% in Windows Explorer.

 

If these suggestions don't help, you may want to try downloading the Revit installation again.  I say this because the first failure in your log file was during the decompressing of the Revit installation files.  Actually, I'm thinking you may have already downloaded a new copy of the install files because I only saw this failure during the first installation attempt.

 

Tony Michniewicz

Autodesk Revit QA

New Member
unique.creator
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-09-2013
Message 7 of 34 (3,994 Views)

Re: Installing Revit Error

06-09-2013 07:43 PM in reply to: 5dunhams

error in instation, that is solution?

Employee
tony.michniewicz
Posts: 151
Registered: ‎11-29-2001
Message 8 of 34 (3,980 Views)

Re: Installing Revit Error

06-10-2013 05:29 AM in reply to: unique.creator

Without an installation log file, it is difficult to identify what caused the failure in this instance but my first suggestion would be to disable Design Review.  I've seen many instances where Revit and the Autodesk Material Library installs fail because of problems during the Design Review install.

 

Tony Michniewicz

Autodesk Revit QA

Member
5dunhams
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-03-2013
Message 9 of 34 (3,901 Views)

Re: Installing Revit Error

07-18-2013 06:10 PM in reply to: tony.michniewicz

I have now tried installing Revit 2012, 2013 and 2014 none of which have worked. I have disabled my firewalls, added autodesk to trusted sites and disabled design review.

Employee
tony.michniewicz
Posts: 151
Registered: ‎11-29-2001
Message 10 of 34 (3,882 Views)

Re: Installing Revit Error

07-19-2013 09:17 AM in reply to: 5dunhams

Based on your latest log file, it appears that some of the Revit pre-requisites are failing to install.  Since there are many common pre-requisites for Revit 2012, 2013 and 2014, this may be the root of your installation problems.  My suggestion would be to install each of the pre-requisites ahead of time and then try the Revit 2014 installation again.  Here is a list of the pre-requisite installs and where you can access them within the Revit 2014 install media:
3rdParty\x64\VCRedist\2008SP1\vcredist_x64.exe
3rdParty\x64\VCRedist\2008SP1.6161\vcredist_x64.exe
3rdParty\x86\VCRedist\2005\vcredist_x86.exe
3rdParty\x64\VCRedist\2005\vcredist_x64.exe
3rdParty\x86\VCRedist\2008SP1\vcredist_x86.exe
3rdParty\x86\VCRedist\2008SP1.6161\vcredist_x86.exe
3rdParty\x86\VCRedist\2010SP1\vcredist_x86.exe
3rdParty\x64\VCRedist\2010SP1\vcredist_x64.exe
3rdParty\x86\VCRedist\KB958314\ATL\vc_atlx86runtime.msi
3rdParty\x86\VCRedist\KB958314\MFC\vc_mfcx86runtime.msi
3rdParty\x86\VCRedist\KB958314\CRT\vc_crtx86runtime.msi
3rdParty\x86\VCRedist\KB958314\OpenMP\vc_openmpx86runtime.msi
3rdParty\x64\VCRedist\KB958314\ATL\vc_atlx64runtime.msi
3rdParty\x64\VCRedist\KB958314\MFC\vc_mfcx64runtime.msi
3rdParty\x64\VCRedist\KB958314\CRT\vc_crtx64runtime.msi
3rdParty\x64\VCRedist\KB958314\OpenMP\vc_openmpx64runtime.msi
3rdParty\x86\VCRedist\2005SP1ATL\vcredist_x86.exe
3rdParty\x64\VCRedist\2005SP1ATL\vcredist_x64.exe
3rdParty\NET\35SP1\wcu\dotNetFramework\Install35Net.exe
3rdParty\NET\45\wcu\dotNetFramework\dotnetfx45_full_x86_x64.exe
3rdParty\DirectX\DXSETUP.exe
3rdParty\x64\FaroSDK\FARO.LS_5.1.0.30630.msi
3rdParty\x86\FaroSDK\FARO.LS_5.1.0.30630.msi

 

I would recommend installing the pre-requisites in the order that I've listed since this is the order they are installed during a Revit installation.  You'll notice that my list includes the 32 and 64-bit versions of each Visual C++ Redistributable as well as FaroSDK.  You must install each version whether you are installing Revit on a 32 or 64-bit operating system.  Also, in cases where the pre-requisites is already installed, I recommend using the repair option to ensure that the installation is configured correctly.

 

Once all of the pre-requisites are installed, I would once again delete the files in the Windows temp folder, disable your virus protection (remember to re-enable it once the installation is complete) and then run the Revit 2014 install one more time.  If the Revit install fails again, please provide the latest version of the install log file as well as answers to the following questions:
What is the operating system on the computer that you are attempting to install Revit?
Are there any other Autodesk products installed on this computer?

 

Good luck and I hope this helps you to get Revit installed!!

Tony Michniewicz

Autodesk Revit QA

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.