Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Member
Hahano
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-06-2012
Message 1 of 6 (485 Views)

Installing onto another drive

485 Views, 5 Replies
01-22-2013 07:23 AM

Hi, I'm installing (or trying to) AutoCAD Civil 3D to another drive. I have two in my computer and my main, bootable SSD doesn't have enough room for the whole install.

 

I have read through the other posts and changed the configurable files to the other drive and clicked "Append" and all that. It's still requiring 6.9 GB on the C: and only put 1.38 GB onto the other. Is there a way I can flip flop these numbers?

 

The drive itself isn't large enough to clear out 6.9 GB without deleting literally everything on it.

 

autocad.png

 

Thanks for the help,

Hahano

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,747
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 2 of 6 (476 Views)

Re: Installing onto another drive

01-22-2013 08:08 AM in reply to: Hahano

Installation requires additional download space as well as temporary space during the install. 

 

To clear some space you have a few options. 

 

1.  Clean out your %TEMP% folder.  This will probably save you a lot of space. 

2.  Move your %TEMP% folder to another drive in your Windows User Environment Variables.

3.  Move your Virtual Memory Swap file to another drive.  This will save your system drive a few gigs.

4.  Reduce the size of your Temporary Internet Files folder setting and delete the cache in there.

5.  Disable the hybernation file if you have a laptop and do not need to hybernate.

 

Keep in mind that Autodesk product installed on another drive still will need to install some files on the local system drive for your user profile. 

 

For best performance, always make sure your system drive has at least 20% free space. 

 

I am attaching a command script that will automagically clean out your temp folders to free up space.  I use this file daily on all of my users.  I have modified it for user for the Autodesk forums. 

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,747
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 3 of 6 (457 Views)

Re: Installing onto another drive

01-22-2013 11:12 AM in reply to: Hahano
Member
Hahano
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-06-2012
Message 4 of 6 (450 Views)

Re: Installing onto another drive

01-22-2013 12:42 PM in reply to: TravisNave

Thank you for your efforts!

 

I already cleared out the temp stuff, had 0 virtual storage and only 100 MB in partition because I knew this issue would arise when I configured my computer in the beginning. All things aside, I still didn't have enough room so I ended up uninstalling another program temporarily and then moved the 5+ GB downloaded "setup files" that AutoCAD installed on there.

 

Works fine now!

 

Thanks for your support again :smileyhappy:

New Member
erhen
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-26-2013
Message 5 of 6 (400 Views)

Re: Installing onto another drive

03-26-2013 06:29 AM in reply to: Hahano

I want to install Autodesk on another drive eg. E: (not C: even I have the space there)..

 

any advise.. (Cleaning up C: is not a solution for me in this case, not because of lack of storage usage locally on C)

 

thank you in advance,

 

 

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,747
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 6 of 6 (377 Views)

Re: Installing onto another drive

03-27-2013 08:18 AM in reply to: erhen

Chang the install location to E:\ then.  Keep in mind that some portions will always be installed to the system root drive.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.