Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Contributor
SySAdminMonk
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎03-04-2014
Message 1 of 19 (340 Views)
Accepted Solution

Installing Maya 2014 trough GPO problem

340 Views, 18 Replies
03-04-2014 04:14 AM

We are trying to deploy Maya 2014 via GPO. We have created a deployment (with the Deployment tool which is included with a Maya installation), when we double click the shortcut Maya 2014 gets deployed. 

We have configured the GPO to deploy Maya 2014, we did EVERYTHING the online manual said to configure the GPO ( http://knowledge.autodesk.com/support/3ds-max/learn-explore/caas/documentation/INSTALL-LICENSE/2014/... )

 

The problem is, nothing happends. Maya 2014 is not getting installed on any computer, even tough the GPO is exactly configured like the online manual said.

 

Can ayone tell me how to get this working? 

 

 

Edited by
Discussion_Admin

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Well finally managed to solve the problem. After a lot of trying/testing, we removed the 'gpo.mst' out of the GPO. So we only left Maya2014.mst added. Now Maya 2014 finally gets installed!

Looks like something is wrong the the gpo.mst.
Product Support
asburyj
Posts: 580
Registered: ‎08-26-2008
Message 2 of 19 (305 Views)

Re: Installing Maya 2014 trough GPO problem

03-04-2014 11:54 AM in reply to: SySAdminMonk

Is a log file being created on the client? The logs will be generated in the TEMP directory which can be accessed by typing '%temp%' in the START > RUN. Please locate the logs which will have a naming convention of "Product Name Setup.log" and "Product Name Install.log". The most common reason I see for a GPO to fail is because a pre requisite component is missing. When you run the deployment it will check for and install missing pre requisites like .net framework and Visual C++ but the GPO is just running the Maya inso MSI by itself so it doesn't check for those and can fail if they are missing. 



Jeffry Asbury
Contributor
SySAdminMonk
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎03-04-2014
Message 3 of 19 (292 Views)

Re: Installing Maya 2014 trough GPO problem

03-05-2014 12:57 AM in reply to: asburyj

Thanks for your quick responce. I checked the temp folder on on the computers, but there aint any log regarding Maya.

 

Edited by
Discussion_Admin

Product Support
asburyj
Posts: 580
Registered: ‎08-26-2008
Message 4 of 19 (281 Views)

Re: Installing Maya 2014 trough GPO problem

03-05-2014 08:22 AM in reply to: SySAdminMonk

Seems like the install isn't starting. Is there any server logging for group policy that tells you anything? Are you sure the clients are actually attempting the install?



Jeffry Asbury
Contributor
SySAdminMonk
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎03-04-2014
Message 5 of 19 (268 Views)

Re: Installing Maya 2014 trough GPO problem

03-06-2014 12:48 AM in reply to: asburyj
Server logs does'nt show anything about Maya, noir does the clients. Odd thing is that other programs get installed without any problem.
Employee
DannyHubbard
Posts: 327
Registered: ‎05-17-2007
Message 6 of 19 (255 Views)

Re: Installing Maya 2014 trough GPO problem

03-06-2014 04:33 AM in reply to: SySAdminMonk

 

With a GPO or SCCM install the install log files will actually be found in the Windows temp folder, somethign like C:\Windows\Temp.

Also make sure the client machine have any of the pre requisites already installed, like Microsoft .Net Framework, DirectX, Visual Studio runtimes or what ever else Maya requires.

http://knowledge.autodesk.com/support/3ds-max/learn-explore/caas/documentation/INSTALL-LICENSE/2014/...

 

Thanks,

Danny



Danny Hubbard
QA Analyst
Autodesk, Inc.
Contributor
SySAdminMonk
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎03-04-2014
Message 7 of 19 (231 Views)

Re: Installing Maya 2014 trough GPO problem

03-10-2014 03:47 AM in reply to: DannyHubbard
They meet all the requirements. Temp folder does'nt show any log about Maya either
Employee
DannyHubbard
Posts: 327
Registered: ‎05-17-2007
Message 8 of 19 (226 Views)

Re: Installing Maya 2014 trough GPO problem

03-10-2014 04:08 AM in reply to: SySAdminMonk

 

You may also want to look a the Application seciton of the Event Viewer, Windows Logs on the client and the server for any errors are warnings when the software tries to install.

 

Thanks,

Danny



Danny Hubbard
QA Analyst
Autodesk, Inc.
Contributor
SySAdminMonk
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎03-04-2014
Message 9 of 19 (216 Views)

Re: Installing Maya 2014 trough GPO problem

03-11-2014 03:37 AM in reply to: DannyHubbard

Tryed the next solution, but DID'NT work:

 

1) Download and install ORCA (it's free).
2) Open repackaged MSI in ORCA.
3) Right click tables section and add the Upgrade table (no data needs to be added though).
4) Save MSI file in ORCA.
5) Re-add files to software deployment in group policy.
6) Check the event log, but files should be deployed without errors.

 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

After monitoring the event viewer on our domain server i found this:

(11-03-2014 11:24:42) Beginning a Windows Installer transaction: \\Servername\Maya 2014\Img\x64\Maya\Maya2014.msi. Client Process Id: 9844.

(11-03-2014 11:24:44) Ending a Windows Installer transaction: \\Serverhaje\Maya 2014\Img\x64\Maya\Maya2014.msi. Client Process Id: 9844.

 

There is no error in the even viewer. so i don't know what the installers ends after 2 seconds of starting.

 

On the client pc event logs, nothing happends.

Employee
DannyHubbard
Posts: 327
Registered: ‎05-17-2007
Message 10 of 19 (211 Views)

Re: Installing Maya 2014 trough GPO problem

03-11-2014 05:01 AM in reply to: SySAdminMonk

 

On the client machine you may try enabling verbose logging, http://support.microsoft.com/kb/223300

Then at a command prompt use the command "gpupdate /force" to make the client sync with the server and start your software package install.

 

Then check the client C:\Windows\Temp folder and Event Viewer. If still nothing is showing up then the problem is with the the package setup on the server or the server communication with the client.

 

Thanks,

Danny



Danny Hubbard
QA Analyst
Autodesk, Inc.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.