Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
New Member
trudeaul1
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-26-2012
Message 1 of 5 (802 Views)

Installation Window Too Big for Screen

802 Views, 4 Replies
01-26-2012 10:33 PM

I have an Acer netbook and just downloaded AutoCAD 2012. I got past the license agreement screen and was only able to move on because I could access the appropriate button by hiding the bottom taskbar. On the product information screen, I can't see the bottom buttons that would allow me to move on to the next step. I've tried blind-tabbing and hitting 'enter' to hopefully get the right button, but it's not working. I either get shot to the FAQ/help page, or it asks if I want to quit the installation. I've tried changing my resolution, but it's as high as it'll go. The window won't let me re-size. So weird. Does anyone else have any tips or tricks I might try? 

 

Thanks!

 

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,125
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 2 of 5 (793 Views)

Re: Installation Window Too Big for Screen

01-27-2012 07:03 AM in reply to: trudeaul1

Your Acer netbook does not meet the minimum system requirements or screen size for AutoCAD 2012.  I recommend you install on a more capable workstation.  A netbook is meant for internet access. 

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
New Member
trudeaul1
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-26-2012
Message 3 of 5 (786 Views)

Re: Installation Window Too Big for Screen

01-27-2012 08:39 PM in reply to: TravisNave

Thanks! I don't *really* need it - just wanted to be able to finish up homework and such. I realize a netbook is not the way to go to do serious work on AutoCAD. I'll give it a try on my husband's computer and see what happens. 

 

 

New Member
NelsonTodd4198
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-10-2011
Message 4 of 5 (591 Views)

Re: Installation Window Too Big for Screen

08-09-2012 06:46 AM in reply to: trudeaul1

First off, AutoDesk should be ashamed of themselves for having the install screen so big and not allowing it to resize, if necessary.  It's that way with even True View 2013.  I have a Core i5 laptop with plenty of horsepower to run AutoCAD but it's a smaller screen.  All I needed was True View and I had to muddle through it.  Inexcusable!

 

My suggestion is to hook it up to an external monitor with and try and change the resolution on that.  Usually the netbooks will resize to the screen that it's hooked up to.  Most monitors will have a better screen resolution vertically that will allow you to see the screen.

 

Shame on AutoDesk for this blatant oversight!

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,125
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 5 of 5 (583 Views)

Re: Installation Window Too Big for Screen

08-09-2012 09:43 AM in reply to: NelsonTodd4198

It's not an oversight.  Autodesk specifically states the minimum requirement for screen resolution. 

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.