Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
New Member
jm3368
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-19-2011
Message 1 of 3 (1,124 Views)

installation problem. Viewports show desktop!

1124 Views, 2 Replies
08-19-2011 11:31 AM

Hi,

 

Just installed 3ds Max 2010 educational version in windows 7.  When I opened it the viewports were transparent.... basically I see through them whatever I have in my desktop, folders or other programs... The attached image I think it explains it better.

 

Any thoughts?

 

Cheers. Jorge

 

 

NOTE: My computer is a Lenovo T61P, core duo 2.50ghz, RAM 3gb, no idea which graphic card but Maya 2011 works perfectly.

Product Support
anil.choudhary
Posts: 88
Registered: ‎07-30-2006
Message 2 of 3 (1,104 Views)

Re: installation problem. Viewports show desktop!

08-22-2011 01:37 AM in reply to: jm3368

Hi Jorge

This problem normally occurs if you have the display configuration set to either OpenGL or Direct3D and your graphics card does not completely support OpenGL or Direct3D  OR you may not have updated drivers  for your graphic card.
By default Max 2010 will use DirextX display,  You can switch MAX to openGL Windows Start >  All Programs > Autodesk> Autodesk 3ds max 2010  > Change Graphics Mode. Revert from Dirext x and  Choose Open GL and see if that works.

Here is the link for Certified Hardware and tested drivers you can check and  Update your graphic driver to certified one  http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/index?siteID=123112&id=14960164&linkID=9241178

I hope this helps.

 

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If my post answers your question, please mark it as an Accepted Solution, so that others can find answers quickly!



 

Cheers



Anil Choudhary
Product Support Specialist
Autodesk, Inc.

New Member
gobineitor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-15-2014
Message 3 of 3 (251 Views)

Re: installation problem. Viewports show desktop!

05-15-2014 05:37 AM in reply to: anil.choudhary

It is an old topic, but I had this problem today (3D Max 9 - Windows 7). I tried this (choosing the "Software" option, not OpenGL nor DirectX) and it worked for me!!! Thanks a lot.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!