Installation & Licensing
Welcome to Autodesk’s Installation and Licensing Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Download, Installation, and Licensing topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Installation of AUTOCAD 2011 fails on operating system w2k8r2.

18 REPLIES 18
SOLVED
Message 1 of 19
dthompson1
1013 Views, 18 Replies

Installation of AUTOCAD 2011 fails on operating system w2k8r2.

I get a error message trying to install AUTOCAD 2011 on a Windows 2008 R2 server.  The message tells me that I cannot install this product on the current operating system.  This is my first time installing AUTOCAD.  Can anyone help, or point me in the right direction?

18 REPLIES 18
Message 2 of 19
DarrenP
in reply to: dthompson1

windows server is not a supported os

you need xp, vista or windows 7 32 bit or 64 bit

DarrenP
Did you find this post helpful? Feel free to Like this post.
Did your question get successfully answered? Then click on the ACCEPT SOLUTION button.

EESignature

Message 3 of 19
dthompson1

But I understood that you could install it along with Network Manager on a server, and then distribute a client to each pc using the software.  Is this not correct??

Message 4 of 19
DarrenP

no thats not correct the license manager gets installed on the server not the product

the product gets installed on the client machines

the license manager dishes out the licenses not autocad

DarrenP
Did your question get successfully answered? Then click on the ACCEPT SOLUTION button.

EESignature

Message 5 of 19
dthompson1
in reply to: DarrenP

Ok, I can understand that.  Isn't the Network License Manager installed from the 'Tools and Utilities' folder on the AUTOCAD media??

Message 6 of 19
DarrenP

yes it is

DarrenP

EESignature

Message 7 of 19
dthompson1

When I select that folder to install, I get the same error that this software cannot be installed on this operating system.

Message 8 of 19
DarrenP