Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Contributor
andreas.pettersson
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎02-09-2009
Message 1 of 3 (203 Views)

install BSSP 2014 scritp or gpo or other method?

203 Views, 2 Replies
08-29-2013 04:59 AM

Hi!

I have always done an admin image from the setup.exe -> Create Deployment. Choose some products and then log in to a workstation and run the link in the folder created by the deployment tool. 

 

I have tried to do a scrip that start the installer link with START like below but that doesn't wait for it to finish so I cant line up Autocad, revit and patches in one go without putting in a pause. It will install ok but its not a very good way.

 

start "" /B /I /WAIT "\\path\Revit2014(x64)\Img\Setup.exe" /qb /I \\path\Revit2014(x64)\Img\Revit2014(x64).ini /language en-us

 

How do you push everything to all the workstations without having to log in?

 

I have tried to do some installs via GPO and that works ok, but the Admin image is not an msi file. Do you have to add every single msi package individually? One deployment is a lot of transforms and packages with all dependencies and extra applications. Autocad architecture + language + dependencies + Recap + Showcase + Naviswork etc

 

I dont have system center, only Windows Server 2008/2012.

 

We are going to deploy 2014 products very soon so any help would be appreciated :smileyhappy:

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,148
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 2 of 3 (190 Views)

Re: install BSSP 2014 scritp or gpo or other method?

08-29-2013 07:45 AM in reply to: andreas.pettersson

Here is some documentation that might help get you on the right path:

 

http://docs.autodesk.com/INSTALL_LICENSE/2014/ENU/Autodesk%20Installation%20Help/index.html?url=file...

 

Good Luck!

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Employee
DannyHubbard
Posts: 269
Registered: ‎05-17-2007
Message 3 of 3 (176 Views)

Re: install BSSP 2014 scritp or gpo or other method?

08-29-2013 10:14 AM in reply to: andreas.pettersson

 

With a GPO install you would have to create a package for each MSI you want to install and add the correct transforms, ok for or two prodcut but if you are installing a suite or multiple product it could be a challenge.

The best option would be SCCM but you don't have that, have you tried running the deployment shortcut (link) file from your script?

Something like:

call "\\path\Revit2014(x64)\deplymentname.lnk" /w

 

Thanks,

Danny



Danny Hubbard
QA Analyst
Autodesk, Inc.
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.