Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
*Expert Elite*
1,392 Posts
131 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-08-2009
Post 1 of 6

IDS 2014 - AutoCAD programs not working

212 Views, 5 Replies
06-26-2013 12:59 PM

I am working with a client that they installed IDS 2014 and anything connected to AutoCAD is not working.

 

Anyone experiencing this? The user interface is not working at all. It keeps crashing and getting Unhandled Exceptions.

We have clean un-installed and reinstalled - it works for a little bit then does not work.

 

I do have a case open with Autodesk - but so far not much progress.

 

Any thoughts? I am at my clients off tonight until this gets fixed.

 

LD


If this helped solve your issue - remember to 'accept as solution' to help other find answers!
You can't think AutoCAD and run Revit.
Email: LisaDragoEE@gmail.com
*Expert Elite*
10,882 Posts
897 Kudos
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Post 2 of 6

Re: IDS 2014 - AutoCAD programs not working

06-26-2013 02:12 PM in reply to: LisaDrago

Without knowing anything about the hardware they are running on, all I can do is speculate.  Typically, I would think things like .NET Framework issues.  But I've also seen weirdness on newer Dell laptops that have onboard video and nVidia cards both.  Get us all the info you can and possibly the crash error and we'll see what comes up.  :-)

*Expert Elite*
1,392 Posts
131 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-08-2009
Post 3 of 6

Re: IDS 2014 - AutoCAD programs not working

06-26-2013 02:32 PM in reply to: TravisNave
These are very high end laptops from dell - they just got last week. It does have the two graphics cards. The .net is good. They 4 laptops with this issue - all brand new.
Autodesk tech is in control of the laptop right now trying to figure it out.
It has to do with all the AutoCAD programs installed.
We can reset AutoCAD and it will work for one session, close it down, reopen and it won't work.

If this helped solve your issue - remember to 'accept as solution' to help other find answers!
You can't think AutoCAD and run Revit.
Email: LisaDragoEE@gmail.com
*Expert Elite*
10,882 Posts
897 Kudos
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Post 4 of 6

Re: IDS 2014 - AutoCAD programs not working

06-26-2013 02:47 PM in reply to: LisaDrago

Yeah, if is the same class as our training labs, (i.e. Dell M4700) then you need to go into the BIOS and disable Optimus for the video.  That will eliminate that onboard video.  Then go to nVidia.com and download the latest WHQL video driver as a clean install.

 

That worked for us.  Hope it does for your customer too!

*Expert Elite*
1,392 Posts
131 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-08-2009
Post 5 of 6

Re: IDS 2014 - AutoCAD programs not working

06-27-2013 05:20 AM in reply to: TravisNave

After a few hours last night - we have it narrowed down to a registry key that is the problem.

We can reset AutoCAD and have it work perfect once. When we close and reopen it the UI does not work and it crashes.

If we delete a specific registry key (please don't ask which one, I can't remember right now but can find out) - it will work.

So every time before they start AutoCAD or C3D they have to reset the registry.  This is a short term fix.

 

Adesk has not seen this issue before - so they were a bit stumped but worked hard to narrow it down and get a workaround.

 

LD


If this helped solve your issue - remember to 'accept as solution' to help other find answers!
You can't think AutoCAD and run Revit.
Email: LisaDragoEE@gmail.com
*Expert Elite*
10,882 Posts
897 Kudos
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Post 6 of 6

Re: IDS 2014 - AutoCAD programs not working

06-27-2013 06:53 AM in reply to: LisaDrago
Make that key read only. It'll bandaid it for now.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post