Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
jmaeding
Posts: 1,045
Registered: ‎12-27-2006
Message 1 of 13 (1,530 Views)
Accepted Solution

How to run lmutil.exe residing on 64 bit server, from XP (32 bit)

1530 Views, 12 Replies
03-29-2012 10:46 AM

I wrote a prog to query how many seats are available, using return from lmutil.exe.

We recently put our acad license server on a 64 bit server, and now the lmutil will not run on xp, sayoing its not a valid 32 bitapp.

 

I don't have hopes of running a 64 bit exe on xp, but is there some way to tell the exe to run actually on the server, not on the machine running the query?

Probably a programming question more than anything, may have some luck here though.

thx

internal protected virtual unsafe Human()
http://onesmallstepforcad.com/

Why not just get the 32-bit version of lmutil.exe?  You can download it here:

 

http://www.globes.com/products/utilities/v11.10.1/lmutil_i86_n3.zip

 

That should work for ya locally. 

 

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,626
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 2 of 13 (1,523 Views)

Re: How to run lmutil.exe residing on 64 bit server, from XP (32 bit)

03-30-2012 07:16 AM in reply to: jmaeding

Why not just get the 32-bit version of lmutil.exe?  You can download it here:

 

http://www.globes.com/products/utilities/v11.10.1/lmutil_i86_n3.zip

 

That should work for ya locally. 

 

Distinguished Contributor
jmaeding
Posts: 1,045
Registered: ‎12-27-2006
Message 3 of 13 (1,520 Views)

Re: How to run lmutil.exe residing on 64 bit server, from XP (32 bit)

03-30-2012 08:43 AM in reply to: TravisNave

oh, I never thought running lmutil from another place would work.

I tested just now and that seemed to go fine so good suggestion!

 

 

 

internal protected virtual unsafe Human()
http://onesmallstepforcad.com/

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,626
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 4 of 13 (1,518 Views)

Re: How to run lmutil.exe residing on 64 bit server, from XP (32 bit)

03-30-2012 08:56 AM in reply to: jmaeding

My pleasure!  Glad you are up and running. 

 

You can also run LMTOOLS remote as well if you choose to configure it by license file and put 27000@SERVERNAME in the box.  Servername being the hostname of your NLM server, of course.  That way you can do a status enquiry with the LMTOOLS GUI.  Just another helpful tip!

 

 

Distinguished Contributor
jmaeding
Posts: 1,045
Registered: ‎12-27-2006
Message 5 of 13 (1,515 Views)

Re: How to run lmutil.exe residing on 64 bit server, from XP (32 bit)

03-30-2012 09:04 AM in reply to: TravisNave

whoa, let me understand that, as it always a pain to go to IT and get access to a server.

I have always set up using the "Configuration using Services" option.

I don't really know the difference of using file.

 

Why would I set up to use file instead of services?

Its been so long since I tried file, I forget the isuues.

thanks

 

internal protected virtual unsafe Human()
http://onesmallstepforcad.com/

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,626
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 6 of 13 (1,513 Views)

Re: How to run lmutil.exe residing on 64 bit server, from XP (32 bit)

03-30-2012 09:06 AM in reply to: jmaeding

No no no, you misunderstand.  On the server itself, LMTOOLS should be configured using services and started as a service.  But... from a client workstation... you can run LMTOOLS and use it to connect to the server by configuring it to use a license file, but in the browse box you type 27000@SERVERNAME and it will connect to the service port of the server.  That will allow you do perform status enquries remotely, etc.

 

Distinguished Contributor
jmaeding
Posts: 1,045
Registered: ‎12-27-2006
Message 7 of 13 (1,510 Views)

Re: How to run lmutil.exe residing on 64 bit server, from XP (32 bit)

03-30-2012 09:12 AM in reply to: TravisNave

I guess I do not understand the effects of doing that.

Let's say i want to have it re-read the license file after an update.

Will the session of lmtools i am running remotely through the port mess up the services running on the server?

Maybe you are saying once you point it to the port, there is no difference.

I would experiment to find out, but also outside advice is appreciated.

thx

 

internal protected virtual unsafe Human()
http://onesmallstepforcad.com/

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,626
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 8 of 13 (1,508 Views)

Re: How to run lmutil.exe residing on 64 bit server, from XP (32 bit)

03-30-2012 09:15 AM in reply to: jmaeding

Actually, yes you can do that remotely with LMTOOLS as well.  That's why sometimes it is a good idea to restrict that access with an adskflex.opt options file. 

 

Basically, I am just giving you the LMTOOLS GUI alternative to running the command line LMUTIL remotely to do the same thing. 

Distinguished Contributor
jmaeding
Posts: 1,045
Registered: ‎12-27-2006
Message 9 of 13 (1,504 Views)

Re: How to run lmutil.exe residing on 64 bit server, from XP (32 bit)

03-30-2012 09:40 AM in reply to: TravisNave

so I am testing and its working, but if I do something like "reread license file", will it somehow alter things to run based on "Configure using license file"?

 

I cannot believe for years I have walked over to IT to do things, and I could have done from my desk.

Someone needs to do a "Flexlm usage for cad managers that used to be engineers, not IT experts", thoiugh at some places I've known more than the IT dept did.

Not at H&A though, our IT people are overqualified for what they do, very nice indeed.

internal protected virtual unsafe Human()
http://onesmallstepforcad.com/

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,626
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 10 of 13 (1,501 Views)

Re: How to run lmutil.exe residing on 64 bit server, from XP (32 bit)

03-30-2012 09:43 AM in reply to: jmaeding

Reread will work just fine.  You're not configuring anything.  You're just remote connecting to the service via its master daemon port. 

 

If you want something that will really shine you on, click my FLEXnet Administrator link in my signature line and see the web-based version of the license manager.  Being able to access your NLM from any web browser should be enough to make you want to bash your head on the wall for years of frustration dealing with IT.  Ha!

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!