Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Active Contributor
SteveKS
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎02-07-2008
Message 1 of 9 (10,058 Views)
Accepted Solution

FLEXnet License Finder Error

10058 Views, 8 Replies
09-16-2010 06:59 AM

I'm having an autodesk inventor 10 network key error that others seem to have had ("Your application was not able to obtain a license because the FLEXnet license serve manager could not determine where to find the licensing data....").  I've tried the timeout extension fix, without success.  I believe my license is properly working, as a status inquiry returns the 1 license issued; total of 0 in use message.

 

Any help would be appreciated.

 

Steve

Make sure you can ping the server by name and that you get the correct IP address response. 

 

You should also consider making a system environment variable named ADSKFLEX_LICENSE_FILE with the value of @SERVERNAME in addition to the FLEXLM_TIMEOUT value of 1000000.

 

What error number are you getting? 

 

 

It has been fixed by a support person.  I'm not quite sure what they did, but it had something to do with DNS and the server name not being recognized.  Thanks for the help, anyway.

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,345
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 2 of 9 (10,055 Views)

Re: FLEXnet License Finder Error

09-16-2010 07:48 AM in reply to: SteveKS

Make sure you can ping the server by name and that you get the correct IP address response. 

 

You should also consider making a system environment variable named ADSKFLEX_LICENSE_FILE with the value of @SERVERNAME in addition to the FLEXLM_TIMEOUT value of 1000000.

 

What error number are you getting? 

 

 

Active Contributor
SteveKS
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎02-07-2008
Message 3 of 9 (10,045 Views)

Re: FLEXnet License Finder Error

09-16-2010 08:37 AM in reply to: SteveKS

It has been fixed by a support person.  I'm not quite sure what they did, but it had something to do with DNS and the server name not being recognized.  Thanks for the help, anyway.

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,345
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 4 of 9 (10,043 Views)

Re: FLEXnet License Finder Error

09-16-2010 09:02 AM in reply to: SteveKS

That would do it.  Testing it with a ping to machine name validates that.  Glad you are up and running. 

New Member
xkhoax
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-24-2010
Message 5 of 9 (9,660 Views)

Re: FLEXnet License Finder Error

10-24-2010 11:48 PM in reply to: SteveKS

Enter the ip instead of hostname.

Contributor
davetyner
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎08-19-2010
Message 6 of 9 (8,365 Views)

Re: FLEXnet License Finder Error

09-16-2011 11:47 PM in reply to: xkhoax

"Enter the ip instead of hostname."

 

saved my life, dude - thanks.

New Member
jared.hack
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-30-2013
Message 7 of 9 (4,223 Views)

Re: FLEXnet License Finder Error

04-30-2013 04:36 PM in reply to: davetyner

I tried entering the Ip. it didn't work. Gives me error 15.570. If I have a license file I have no idea where it is. I'm a student and have the free 3 year version of Revit Architecture 2012

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,345
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 8 of 9 (4,222 Views)

Re: FLEXnet License Finder Error

04-30-2013 04:39 PM in reply to: jared.hack
Reinstall as stand-alone.
New Member
schebesta
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-12-2014
Message 9 of 9 (1,652 Views)

Re: FLEXnet License Finder Error

02-12-2014 06:45 AM in reply to: TravisNave
(From Travis):You should also consider making a system environment variable named ADSKFLEX_LICENSE_FILE with the value of @SERVERNAME in addition to the FLEXLM_TIMEOUT value of 1000000.

I've already tried with the hostname and the ip. No success still.
How do I make a System enviroment variable named ADSKFLEX_LICENSE_FILE ...?
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.