Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Active Member
JShort2101
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-16-2013
Message 1 of 13 (6,722 Views)

FlexLM and Licencing Products

6722 Views, 12 Replies
08-16-2013 02:44 PM

Hi,

 

Apologies if I have posted this in to the wrong forum. I am new to Autodesk products and have only just signed up for the forums. I would realy appreciate some asssitance for a customer who has been left in a bit of a mess.The customers previous support company no longer exists.

 

The client has four products (Maya 2009, Mudbox 2009, Motion Builder 2009 & 3DS Max 2009)

The client was going through a hardware refresh and needed to re-install NLM etc for licencing.

Client has been installing different versions of LMTools but have caused themselves problems and now nothing is working..

 

What version of Flex NLM should they be considering?

The versions on their CD's appear to be older versions. Should they use those or download a more recent version?

I have manged to work out the registration proccess to obtain licences. One (3DS Max) is supplied as a .LIC and the other 3 are supplied as .DAT

Can both reside within the same FlexLM environment?

Can the 3 x .DAT files be combined or not?

 

Many thanks in advance for any replies. Being a 'newbie' here I would greatly appreciate any information and assistance.

 

Kind regards.

 

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,476
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 2 of 13 (6,712 Views)

Re: FlexLM and Licencing Products

08-16-2013 03:57 PM in reply to: JShort2101

Weclome to the community.

 

You can use the latest NLM version, but I always recommend 11.7 as it seems to be the most compatible.

 

I do recommend combining all the licenses and use one service to run the single license.  You can combine .LIC and .DAT without issue.  As long as the headers are the same, you can combine them.  You might have different vendors if one uses the sgiawd one instead of adsflex.exe. But you can still do it. 

 

For the best method to properly combine your license files, please read my entire thread here and choose the method that best fits your needs:

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Installation-Licensing/Combining-License-Files-for-Subscription-and-No...

For best results, respond with any follow-ups here and not in my KB thread. Thanks!

Active Member
JShort2101
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-16-2013
Message 3 of 13 (6,708 Views)

Re: FlexLM and Licencing Products

08-16-2013 04:04 PM in reply to: TravisNave

Hi Travis,

 

Many thanks for the prompt response. It is greatly appreciated.

 

Given that the customer has been trying to resolve matters themselves should I uninstall any/all previous versions before installing 11.7?

 

If possible I would like to ensure that their server is 'clean' before moving them forward.

 

Thanks again,

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,476
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 4 of 13 (6,704 Views)

Re: FlexLM and Licencing Products

08-16-2013 04:17 PM in reply to: JShort2101
All you need to do is install it and not use any of the others. My combine
link will hold your hand all the way. Hit me up on Monday if you need
anything.
Active Member
JShort2101
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-16-2013
Message 5 of 13 (6,699 Views)

Re: FlexLM and Licencing Products

08-16-2013 04:29 PM in reply to: TravisNave

Thanks very much.

 

Have a great weekend.

Active Member
JShort2101
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-16-2013
Message 6 of 13 (6,676 Views)

Re: FlexLM and Licencing Products

08-19-2013 03:27 AM in reply to: TravisNave

Hi Travis

 

I managed to install NLM 11.7 over the weekend. However when I run a server status I receive the following error.

 

 

-------- Status -------- Flexible License Manager status on Mon 8/19/2013 11:21

[Detecting lmgrd processes...] License server status: 7111@192.168.20.20    

License file(s) on 192.168.20.20: C:\Program Files\Autodesk Network License Manager\aw_MAYAUL2009enlicense.dat:

lmgrd is not running: Cannot connect to license server system.  

The license server manager (lmgrd) has not been started yet,  the wrong port@host or license file is being used, or the port or hostname in the license file has been changed. Server name:   192.168.20.20 License path:  7111@192.168.20.20;

FLEXnet Licensing error:-15,10.  System Error: 10061 "WinSock: Connection refused" For further information, refer to the FLEXnet Licensing documentation, available at "www.acresso.com".

 

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,476
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 7 of 13 (6,671 Views)

Re: FlexLM and Licencing Products

08-19-2013 05:05 AM in reply to: JShort2101
Send me a PM with your license files before you combined them.
Active Member
JShort2101
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-16-2013
Message 8 of 13 (6,667 Views)

Re: FlexLM and Licencing Products

08-19-2013 06:24 AM in reply to: TravisNave

Just sent you an email.

 

Thanks.

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,476
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 9 of 13 (6,661 Views)

Re: FlexLM and Licencing Products

08-19-2013 07:22 AM in reply to: JShort2101

Let me know if you have issues with the clarification that I provided. 

Active Member
JShort2101
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-16-2013
Message 10 of 13 (6,657 Views)

Re: FlexLM and Licencing Products

08-19-2013 08:19 AM in reply to: TravisNave

Cheers Travis,

 

That worked a treat. Both services are up and running and are reporting that they have licences avialable to be issued.

 

Just tried configuring the client and after updating the aw_servername.dat Mudbox tries to open and then states that there are no licences and starts going in a loop, but I think that I need to re-read the client side install instructions again to make sure I got that bit right.

 

Once again many thanks for all your help and advice. It has been greatly appreciated.

 

 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.