Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Active Contributor
g.heeley
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎06-08-2011
Message 1 of 4 (344 Views)
Accepted Solution

Flex LM Licence available but user cant get it

344 Views, 3 Replies
10-14-2012 12:58 PM

Were running PDSU, AutoCAD and FDSADV  licences on a cetrailsed Licence server. to control useage by department I've created an options file with Groups and specified reserved/maximum licences based on these groups. 1 user cant seem to get a licence even though there are some available. I beleiwve it may be to do with the name of the user in the group but cant find confirmation of this

 

GROUP PRODENG dvale abennett eahmad
GROUP RND ikaur r&d
GROUP PRODN jsimpson bspain
GROUP CUSTENG mcleland greynolds bswney sweir rgelderbloem
GROUP CNP jetcam

 

The user that cant get the licence is ikaur and I think it may be because the user r&d contains the ampersand character. Would this be the cause?

Thanks
Greg

Greg Heeley
CAD Administrator
temperzone Ltd
Inventor Pro, Vault Pro, ACADE

Aaron

Thanks for the suggestion

I'd already got GROUPCASEINSENSITIVE set to ON.

 

I went through and deleted all the lines relevant to the RND group (so the group declaration as well as all Reserves, Max and Exclude lines) Then one by one introduced them back in by retyping (rather than copy paste from an old version), each time after loading a new line I stopped/started the Flex LM service to check if any one statement was causing the error. It ended up that no statement caused the user ikaur to be unable to get a licence. I can only conclude there must have been some hidden characters in the original lines that caused the issue. Finished opt file is attached

Regards

Greg

 

Product Support
aaronhai
Posts: 252
Registered: ‎03-25-2010
Message 2 of 4 (335 Views)

Re: Flex LM Licence available but user cant get it

10-14-2012 07:29 PM in reply to: g.heeley

Hi,

 

If you suspect case sensitivity in the issue, please add the statement GROUPCASEINSENSITIVE ON in Options File to disables case sensitivity for user and computer names.

Else, please send the debug log and error code displayed.

 

Thanks.

 

 



Aaron Hai
Active Contributor
g.heeley
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎06-08-2011
Message 3 of 4 (299 Views)

Re: Flex LM Licence available but user can't get it

10-16-2012 02:19 PM in reply to: aaronhai

Aaron

Thanks for the suggestion

I'd already got GROUPCASEINSENSITIVE set to ON.

 

I went through and deleted all the lines relevant to the RND group (so the group declaration as well as all Reserves, Max and Exclude lines) Then one by one introduced them back in by retyping (rather than copy paste from an old version), each time after loading a new line I stopped/started the Flex LM service to check if any one statement was causing the error. It ended up that no statement caused the user ikaur to be unable to get a licence. I can only conclude there must have been some hidden characters in the original lines that caused the issue. Finished opt file is attached

Regards

Greg

 

Thanks
Greg

Greg Heeley
CAD Administrator
temperzone Ltd
Inventor Pro, Vault Pro, ACADE
Product Support
aaronhai
Posts: 252
Registered: ‎03-25-2010
Message 4 of 4 (280 Views)

Re: Flex LM Licence available but user can't get it

10-17-2012 12:57 AM in reply to: g.heeley

Hi g.heeley,

 

I observed that the Options File has a .txt extension. You may want to ensure the filename is adskflex.opt (without the txt).

 

If problem persists, please send the following :

 

1. A copy of the license file from the Server. You will find its location in LMTOOLS on the Config Services Tab, Path to License file text box.

 

2. A copy of the debug log file file from the Server. You will find its location in LMTOOLS on the Config Services Tab, Path to the debug log file text box.

 

3. A copy of the text from choosing the Perform Status Enquiry button on the Server Status tab of LMTOOLS. Please copy this content into a .txt file in notepad and save as a name such as SrvStat.txt.

 

 

4. Error code displayed.

 

Please let me know if you have any queries. Thank you.



Aaron Hai
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.