Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Member
Samkiff
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-09-2014
Message 1 of 3 (207 Views)
Accepted Solution

Failed Installation - Error 1603 - How do I fix it?

207 Views, 2 Replies
05-30-2014 12:56 PM

Hi, 

 

I'm trying to install AutoCAD Civil 3D 2012 but it keeps failing. The installation log keeps giving me error code 1603. I know this is generic so I ran it without silent mode and got a slightly more detailed log, which I've attached to this post. 

 

I tried emptying the %temp folder, closing all background application, and rebooting but nothing has helped. As far as the other suggestions that the microsoft site gives - such as a problem with directx runtimes or C+++ redistributables - well, I don't even know where to start with that. 

 

So can anyone give me an idea of what might be causing the error, based on the installation log? 

 

If not, can you provide instructions as to how to perform the more complicated fixes? 

 

Any help is appreciated!!!

This issue was actually solved by uninstalling Microsoft's .NET framework 4.5 and installing the 4.0 version. Note that you have to completely uninstall it - as "fixing" it (or whatever the second option is) did not work.  

 

I realized this was the issue after reviewing the installation log again and noticing that the .NET framework step was the one it was stuck on. Sadly, I wasted a lot of time prior to this realization.

 

After that was done, I restarted the computer and the program installed without a problem!

 

 

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,600
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 3 (187 Views)

Re: Failed Installation - Error 1603 - How do I fix it?

05-31-2014 07:57 AM in reply to: Samkiff
Member
Samkiff
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-09-2014
Message 3 of 3 (166 Views)

Re: Failed Installation - Error 1603 - How do I fix it?

06-09-2014 08:06 AM in reply to: Samkiff

This issue was actually solved by uninstalling Microsoft's .NET framework 4.5 and installing the 4.0 version. Note that you have to completely uninstall it - as "fixing" it (or whatever the second option is) did not work.  

 

I realized this was the issue after reviewing the installation log again and noticing that the .NET framework step was the one it was stuck on. Sadly, I wasted a lot of time prior to this realization.

 

After that was done, I restarted the computer and the program installed without a problem!

 

 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.