Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Member
gradinaru_andrei
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-01-2011
Message 1 of 6 (685 Views)

Error 1606

685 Views, 5 Replies
04-16-2013 03:35 PM

Hello,

Trying to install the lastest version of autocad 2014 for student edition has coused me a lot of trouble. Starting with the error 1606, which i searched on the internet and found a lot of topics regarding USER SHELL FOLDER, in my case there were no such problemes, then i tryed creating a new administrator acount but no luck there at all. Any other ideas are welcomed :smileysad:

Member
gradinaru_andrei
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-01-2011
Message 2 of 6 (681 Views)

Re: Error 1606

04-16-2013 03:44 PM in reply to: gradinaru_andrei

this is the log in temp!

Member
gradinaru_andrei
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-01-2011
Message 3 of 6 (622 Views)

Re: Error 1606

04-19-2013 12:54 PM in reply to: gradinaru_andrei

A recorded version of the problem at hand.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,902
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 4 of 6 (616 Views)

Re: Error 1606

04-19-2013 01:18 PM in reply to: gradinaru_andrei
So you are attempting a network installation?
Or installation from the online site?
The log file you posted contains no useful info: find other log files and post here.
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Member
gradinaru_andrei
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-01-2011
Message 5 of 6 (579 Views)

Re: Error 1606

04-21-2013 02:06 AM in reply to: gradinaru_andrei

it is a stand-alone instalation. i have downloaded the kit from student.autodesk, i don't know where to look for other logs, if you can direct me :smileysad:. By the way i have recorded a sample of the error just under the log post, maybe you can tell from there what is the problem. Having autocad 2013 installed on my pc can create a bug or smthing that could interfere with the setup of 2014 ?

Distinguished Contributor
Jroper
Posts: 159
Registered: ‎09-09-2008
Message 6 of 6 (562 Views)

Re: Error 1606

04-22-2013 11:15 AM in reply to: gradinaru_andrei

Just for kicks.  Check HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Shell Folders

The Error 1606 it has for Autodesk knowledgebase is HKEY_USERS\.DEFAULT, but check in HKEY_CURRENT_USER too.

 

Of course don't poke around in the registry if you are not comfortable with doing that or are not allowed by your admin!

 

Do all of the file locations that it shows actually exist?  Do you have permissions to write to those locations?  If those places don't exist, then figure out why.  If they do, figure out why you can't write to them.

 

  I've had this issue in the past where someone used a account cleaner program and it wiped the folders for c:\Users\administrator..., and it would not install AutoCAD.  I fixed it by logging in as that account and it created the folders again.  I've also had to manually find and replace the folder locations with places that exist.  This was do to a bad imaging process that placed folder locations that did not exist anymore.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.