Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
New Member
tkpolak
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-30-2011
Message 1 of 4 (3,016 Views)

Error 1606: Could not access network location bin.

3016 Views, 3 Replies
08-30-2011 07:01 AM

Hello.

 

When installator is computing required disc space the following error pops up:

 

Error 1606: Could not access network location bin. 

 

I checked Windows help centre, my registry and all the shell's and things (registry) described there are ok. 

 

I tried this with Maya 2011 x64 on my x64 system. Help anyone? This is f***** not cool...

 

 

Product Support
david.lau
Posts: 1,354
Registered: ‎06-18-2008
Message 2 of 4 (3,012 Views)

Re: Error 1606: Could not access network location bin.

08-30-2011 10:45 AM in reply to: tkpolak
New Member
tkpolak
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-30-2011
Message 3 of 4 (3,009 Views)

Re: Error 1606: Could not access network location bin.

08-30-2011 10:49 AM in reply to: david.lau

well yes I checked it, however it regards already installed maya,

 

 "(replace the xxxxxxxxx with the path where Maya 2011 is installed)

msiexec /qb /X {887CB4A1-5DB4-4924-A2C6-CDCB72376CC7} INSTALLDIR=”xxxxxxxxx”

 

so what can I do? do the same thing for not-yet-installed maya making up the install directory? dunno :c

Active Member
wppdev
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎08-22-2011
Message 4 of 4 (945 Views)

Re: Error 1606: Could not access network location bin.

07-26-2013 12:45 AM in reply to: tkpolak

I was able to solve the problem with the following solution

Resolution:-
The problem is due to a registry location pointing to a non-existent location for the user profile location.

 

Steps to resolve :

  • Go to run.
  • Type ‘regedit’ click ‘ok’. The Registry Editor window opens.
  • Follow the path given below.
  • [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Shell Folders]
  • Check the location for “Common Documents”, It will be pointing to a non-existent location
  • Eg. "Common Documents"="C:\\Users\\Public\\Documents"
  • Change the value data of common document as:
  • "Common Documents"="d:\\Users\\Public\\Documents"  (or any valid location)
  • OR create that non-existent folder
  • Run setup again
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.