Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
New Member
tkpolak
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-30-2011
Message 1 of 4 (3,164 Views)

Error 1606: Could not access network location bin.

3164 Views, 3 Replies
08-30-2011 07:01 AM

Hello.

 

When installator is computing required disc space the following error pops up:

 

Error 1606: Could not access network location bin. 

 

I checked Windows help centre, my registry and all the shell's and things (registry) described there are ok. 

 

I tried this with Maya 2011 x64 on my x64 system. Help anyone? This is f***** not cool...

 

 

Product Support
david.lau
Posts: 1,511
Registered: ‎06-18-2008
Message 2 of 4 (3,160 Views)

Re: Error 1606: Could not access network location bin.

08-30-2011 10:45 AM in reply to: tkpolak
New Member
tkpolak
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-30-2011
Message 3 of 4 (3,157 Views)

Re: Error 1606: Could not access network location bin.

08-30-2011 10:49 AM in reply to: david.lau

well yes I checked it, however it regards already installed maya,

 

 "(replace the xxxxxxxxx with the path where Maya 2011 is installed)

msiexec /qb /X {887CB4A1-5DB4-4924-A2C6-CDCB72376CC7} INSTALLDIR=”xxxxxxxxx”

 

so what can I do? do the same thing for not-yet-installed maya making up the install directory? dunno :c

Active Member
wppdev
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎08-22-2011
Message 4 of 4 (1,093 Views)

Re: Error 1606: Could not access network location bin.

07-26-2013 12:45 AM in reply to: tkpolak

I was able to solve the problem with the following solution

Resolution:-
The problem is due to a registry location pointing to a non-existent location for the user profile location.

 

Steps to resolve :

  • Go to run.
  • Type ‘regedit’ click ‘ok’. The Registry Editor window opens.
  • Follow the path given below.
  • [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Shell Folders]
  • Check the location for “Common Documents”, It will be pointing to a non-existent location
  • Eg. "Common Documents"="C:\\Users\\Public\\Documents"
  • Change the value data of common document as:
  • "Common Documents"="d:\\Users\\Public\\Documents"  (or any valid location)
  • OR create that non-existent folder
  • Run setup again
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.