Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Active Contributor
wgmdev
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎04-16-2008
Message 1 of 4 (4,802 Views)

Error 1606. Could not access network location Autodesk\AutoCAD 2014\R19.1

4802 Views, 3 Replies
01-10-2014 04:26 AM

Problem:-

The following problem is seen when installing AutoCAD 2014.

 

When we run setup.exe of AutoCAD 2014 the following error message is displayed.

“Error 1606. Could not access network location Autodesk\AutoCAD 2014\R19.1.”

 

 

 

 

Resolution:-
The problem is due to a registry location pointing to a non-existent location for the user profile location.

 

Steps to resolve :

  • Go to run.
  • Type ‘regedit’ click ‘ok’. The Registry Editor window opens.
  • Follow the path given below.
  • [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Shell Folders]
  • Check the location for “Common Documents”, It will be pointing to a non-existent location
  • Eg. "Common Documents"="C:\\Users\\Public\\Documents"
  • Change the value data of common document as:
  • "Common Documents"="d:\\Users\\Public\\Documents" 
  • OR create that non-existent folder
  • Run AutoCAD 2014 setup again
Product Support
david.lau
Posts: 1,475
Registered: ‎06-18-2008
Message 2 of 4 (4,725 Views)

Re: Error 1606. Could not access network location Autodesk\AutoCAD 2014\R19.1

01-16-2014 12:24 PM in reply to: wgmdev

Thanks for the tip/workaround.



David Lau
New Member
RonnySimonsen
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-26-2014
Message 3 of 4 (3,440 Views)

SOLVED (Re: Error 1606. Could not access network location....

05-28-2014 12:35 AM in reply to: wgmdev

Hi!

I did try this because userprofiles is stored on partition D:\

This didn't work, so thats why i asked here in forum.

 

Now i discoverd that the real path is not D:\Users\Public\... but ...\Users\... has been renamed to norwegian ...\Brukere\...

I edit registre to; D:\Brukere\Public\Documents and now it works.

 

This is an error that shouldnt be there at all. Autodesk should be so proffesional to can avoid such error. No other software have this kind og problem!

Autodesk! Fix this!

New Member
gouacht
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-16-2014
Message 4 of 4 (3,199 Views)

Re: Error 1606. Could not access network location Autodesk\AutoCAD 2014\R19.1

06-16-2014 06:13 AM in reply to: wgmdev

Merci for your answers 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!