Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Active Member
6 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-03-2009
Post 1 of 6

Dual installation of ACAD 2012

143 Views, 5 Replies
10-13-2011 02:33 PM

Hi all,

 

I have an installation question. I run a contract drafting service and I am in the process of upgrading my system to Win 7 Pro 64 bit and ACAD 2012 64bit. My question is, can I install both version of AutoCAD, 32bit  and 64bit side by side? The reason I ask is one of my customers uses a third party add on to AutoCAD that is not yet upgraded to 64 bit. I won't have any problems with any of my other customers and would like to take advantage of the 64 bit systems as much as possible.

 

Thanks in advance.

Tony M.

Product Support
1,517 Posts
115 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-18-2008
Post 2 of 6

Re: Dual installation of ACAD 2012

10-13-2011 07:45 PM in reply to: tmilligan
Active Member
6 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-03-2009
Post 3 of 6

Re: Dual installation of ACAD 2012

10-14-2011 03:52 AM in reply to: david.lau

Thanks for the reply David but have already read that thread. It doesn't quite answer my question. I would like to install both versions of ACAD, 32 bit and 64 bit, on the same PC. The third party vendor already has a work a workaround for getting ACAD 32bit to install with they're software package on a 64 bit system. SInce I only have one customer that uses this third party software I would like to be able to use ACAD 64 on the same PC for the rest of my customers. Hence the question about installing both versions on the same system.

 

Tony M.

*Expert Elite*
7,925 Posts
657 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Post 4 of 6

Re: Dual installation of ACAD 2012

10-14-2011 06:05 AM in reply to: tmilligan

no you can't have both version installed

 

Active Member
6 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-03-2009
Post 5 of 6

Re: Dual installation of ACAD 2012

10-14-2011 06:12 AM in reply to: DarrenP

Thanks Darren...kind of what I figured, not what I was hoping. :smileysad:

*Expert Elite*
10,937 Posts
903 Kudos
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Post 6 of 6

Re: Dual installation of ACAD 2012

10-14-2011 07:48 AM in reply to: tmilligan

The closest you can get is to install the Windows XP Mode virtual machine on your Windows 7 and then install your 32-bit on there. 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!