Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
*Martin, Jason
Message 21 of 28 (140 Views)

Re: Drawings changing to Read Only

03-10-2000 09:02 PM in reply to: *Keefer, Bob
Okay Bob I've not confirmed your problem in A2k but I can confirm it to a
point in R14. During the last couple of weeks I've been tasked with
processing blocks for a client. As mutch as possible I've tried to do this
with a combination of scripts and autolisp commands as there are over 900
blocks to be processed by the end of this month. I've recieved a number of
"non repeatable" errors during this process. The process I've followed has
been to create a script using a csv from exel with all of the file name with
a lisp running inside the script. Something like:
...
open h:\prj\prjct\a101.dwg fixstuff qsave
open h:\prj\prjct\a102.dwg fixstuff qsave
...
where fixstuff is defined in my acad.lsp as something like (and this varies
depending on what I'm doing)"
(defun c:fixstuff()
(command "change" "all" "" "p" "co" "bylayer" "")
(command "purge" "all" "*" "n")
)

The basic problem that I'm seeing is that during the running of my script
(and there is no consistent time that it occurrs) the script will lock
indicating that the current drawing cannot be saved. Now I know that no one
else on our network is accessing the drawings that I'm working on at there
are only a total of 4 people who have rights to the server that the files
are stored on and I guarantee that none of them want anything to do with
this block conversion. If I then open the file (and I mean within seconds)
and try to save it, no problem.

What I'm trying to say is that the same problem may be ocurring in R14 but
has not been noticed as there is some kind of time out that ocurrs when the
drawing is opened.

I've not been able to make the script hang twice in the same file. Do you
by chance remember the problem with all R13 files being opened as read only
unless you checked off the read only checkbox on the Netware (which is not a
3rd party operating system as far as I'm concerned) 3.11 servers???

I know that this post hasn't helped out your situation but maybe if Autodesk
knows that there may have been problems previous to A2k they might look at
other solutions???

jason martin
frankfurt-short-bruza

ps: bob - We still need to got shoot some beer and have a drink of pool.

Bob Keefer wrote in message <8819lt$2mu18@adesk
news2.autodesk.com>...
><<< Message <38A37609.4E6D5322@home.com> was originally posted to
'autodesk.autocad.2000general' on Thu, 10 Feb 2000 20:38:01 -0600.>>>
>
>We just got AutoCAD 2000 installed this week at work, and we are having
>a frustrating time. Users will open drawings fine, but at some point
>during editing the drawing will "change" to Read Only, displaying an
>error that the drawing is in use by someone else and cannot be saved.
>Naturally that is not the case. It is affecting most of our users, and
>seems to be random and sporadic. It does not happen on every file with
>every user, nor is there a specific amount of time the drawing can be
>open or edited before it happens.
>
>All drawings are stored on a network file server (NT Server). All
>AutoCAD licenses are local installations. Machines are mostly HP Vectra
>P2-200 with onboard graphics, running WinNT 4, SP 3 or 5..
>
>AutoCAD settings: We have tried disabling Autosave, setting the "Demand
>load xrefs" to disabled, and setting "Incremental save percentage".
>Graphics acceleration is set to "software".
>
>Our dealer contacted Autodesk, but no help so far. I was checking this
>newsgroup for messages this past weekend, and saw several instances of
>the problem, including some on computers that were not on a network. In
>fact, with my personal license at home, I am getting save errors that
>display a message box: "Unable to save drawing "blah-blah" as it is
>being accessed by another session. Drawing saved to xxxx.ac$. I have a
>P2-266 dual, with plenty of RAM, and Windows NT4, SP5.
>
>If this has happened to you, would you please chime in? I need to
>demonstrate that the problem is not unique to us to try and get some
>help. Also, if you got it fixed, I would love to hear how!!
>
>Thanks!
>
>Bob Keefer
*Keefer, Bob
Message 22 of 28 (140 Views)

Re:

03-12-2000 06:40 PM in reply to: *Keefer, Bob
Jason:

Hello there! Friday at 11:02PM??? GO HOME!

There was a serious problem with R13 and Netware, and we never really solved
it. Each company kept pointing the finger at the other one. Fortunately for me
I do not have to deal with Novell on top of everything else - seems like there
were still some inconsistencies between it and R14.

Strange problem you are having with those scripts. We are still having our
problem - it is still random and sporadic - cannot seem to get any pattern on it
at all. We are trying to get to a point where we can move the drawing files to
a different server, but that may not do it.

Thanks for chiming in - this needs to be fixed!!

Bob

Jason Martin wrote:

> Okay Bob I've not confirmed your problem in A2k but I can confirm it to a
> point in R14. During the last couple of weeks I've been tasked with
> processing blocks for a client. As mutch as possible I've tried to do this
> with a combination of scripts and autolisp commands as there are over 900
> blocks to be processed by the end of this month. I've recieved a number of
> "non repeatable" errors during this process. The process I've followed has
> been to create a script using a csv from exel with all of the file name with
> a lisp running inside the script. Something like:
> ...
> open h:\prj\prjct\a101.dwg fixstuff qsave
> open h:\prj\prjct\a102.dwg fixstuff qsave
> ...
> where fixstuff is defined in my acad.lsp as something like (and this varies
> depending on what I'm doing)"
> (defun c:fixstuff()
> (command "change" "all" "" "p" "co" "bylayer" "")
> (command "purge" "all" "*" "n")
> )
>
> The basic problem that I'm seeing is that during the running of my script
> (and there is no consistent time that it occurrs) the script will lock
> indicating that the current drawing cannot be saved. Now I know that no one
> else on our network is accessing the drawings that I'm working on at there
> are only a total of 4 people who have rights to the server that the files
> are stored on and I guarantee that none of them want anything to do with
> this block conversion. If I then open the file (and I mean within seconds)
> and try to save it, no problem.
>
> What I'm trying to say is that the same problem may be ocurring in R14 but
> has not been noticed as there is some kind of time out that ocurrs when the
> drawing is opened.
>
> I've not been able to make the script hang twice in the same file. Do you
> by chance remember the problem with all R13 files being opened as read only
> unless you checked off the read only checkbox on the Netware (which is not a
> 3rd party operating system as far as I'm concerned) 3.11 servers???
>
> I know that this post hasn't helped out your situation but maybe if Autodesk
> knows that there may have been problems previous to A2k they might look at
> other solutions???
>
> jason martin
> frankfurt-short-bruza
>
> ps: bob - We still need to got shoot some beer and have a drink of pool.
>
> Bob Keefer wrote in message <8819lt$2mu18@adesk
> news2.autodesk.com>...
> ><<< Message <38A37609.4E6D5322@home.com> was originally posted to
> 'autodesk.autocad.2000general' on Thu, 10 Feb 2000 20:38:01 -0600.>>>
> >
> >We just got AutoCAD 2000 installed this week at work, and we are having
> >a frustrating time. Users will open drawings fine, but at some point
> >during editing the drawing will "change" to Read Only, displaying an
> >error that the drawing is in use by someone else and cannot be saved.
> >Naturally that is not the case. It is affecting most of our users, and
> >seems to be random and sporadic. It does not happen on every file with
> >every user, nor is there a specific amount of time the drawing can be
> >open or edited before it happens.
> >
> >All drawings are stored on a network file server (NT Server). All
> >AutoCAD licenses are local installations. Machines are mostly HP Vectra
> >P2-200 with onboard graphics, running WinNT 4, SP 3 or 5..
> >
> >AutoCAD settings: We have tried disabling Autosave, setting the "Demand
> >load xrefs" to disabled, and setting "Incremental save percentage".
> >Graphics acceleration is set to "software".
> >
> >Our dealer contacted Autodesk, but no help so far. I was checking this
> >newsgroup for messages this past weekend, and saw several instances of
> >the problem, including some on computers that were not on a network. In
> >fact, with my personal license at home, I am getting save errors that
> >display a message box: "Unable to save drawing "blah-blah" as it is
> >being accessed by another session. Drawing saved to xxxx.ac$. I have a
> >P2-266 dual, with plenty of RAM, and Windows NT4, SP5.
> >
> >If this has happened to you, would you please chime in? I need to
> >demonstrate that the problem is not unique to us to try and get some
> >help. Also, if you got it fixed, I would love to hear how!!
> >
> >Thanks!
> >
> >Bob Keefer
*Ross, Douglas
Message 23 of 28 (140 Views)

Re:

03-17-2000 10:55 AM in reply to: *Keefer, Bob
I'm having the same problem and I've found a 'work around' that seems to save
time and definitely on the number of read only messages.

1. Open AutoCAD 2k as you normally would, assuming that's the only thing in the task
bar.
2. Open the Windoze Explorer.
3. When you see the first read only error, close that session of AutoCAD and go to
explorer and delete and rename your file as needed. VERY important! ~~>Leave the
Windoze Explorer running in the background.
4. Reopen AutoCAD run as usual.

I sorta stumbled upon this on, but it seems to work. I don't know why, it just
does. I sure know when I don't do it. I only get about three saves then BOOM! 'Read
Only'. Step One... I am also not on a network that uses a server. But maybe it will
be a temp fix for you. Of course I'm also on a little Win98 box too. Well until the
fix is released, Good Luck!

Doug

Bob Keefer wrote:

> Jason:
>
> Hello there! Friday at 11:02PM??? GO HOME!
>
> There was a serious problem with R13 and Netware, and we never really solved
> it. Each company kept pointing the finger at the other one. Fortunately for me
> I do not have to deal with Novell on top of everything else - seems like there
> were still some inconsistencies between it and R14.
>
> Strange problem you are having with those scripts. We are still having our
> problem - it is still random and sporadic - cannot seem to get any pattern on it
> at all. We are trying to get to a point where we can move the drawing files to
> a different server, but that may not do it.
>
> Thanks for chiming in - this needs to be fixed!!
>
> Bob
>
> Jason Martin wrote:
>
> > Okay Bob I've not confirmed your problem in A2k but I can confirm it to a
> > point in R14. During the last couple of weeks I've been tasked with
> > processing blocks for a client. As mutch as possible I've tried to do this
> > with a combination of scripts and autolisp commands as there are over 900
> > blocks to be processed by the end of this month. I've recieved a number of
> > "non repeatable" errors during this process. The process I've followed has
> > been to create a script using a csv from exel with all of the file name with
> > a lisp running inside the script. Something like:
> > ...
> > open h:\prj\prjct\a101.dwg fixstuff qsave
> > open h:\prj\prjct\a102.dwg fixstuff qsave
> > ...
> > where fixstuff is defined in my acad.lsp as something like (and this varies
> > depending on what I'm doing)"
> > (defun c:fixstuff()
> > (command "change" "all" "" "p" "co" "bylayer" "")
> > (command "purge" "all" "*" "n")
> > )
> >
> > The basic problem that I'm seeing is that during the running of my script
> > (and there is no consistent time that it occurrs) the script will lock
> > indicating that the current drawing cannot be saved. Now I know that no one
> > else on our network is accessing the drawings that I'm working on at there
> > are only a total of 4 people who have rights to the server that the files
> > are stored on and I guarantee that none of them want anything to do with
> > this block conversion. If I then open the file (and I mean within seconds)
> > and try to save it, no problem.
> >
> > What I'm trying to say is that the same problem may be ocurring in R14 but
> > has not been noticed as there is some kind of time out that ocurrs when the
> > drawing is opened.
> >
> > I've not been able to make the script hang twice in the same file. Do you
> > by chance remember the problem with all R13 files being opened as read only
> > unless you checked off the read only checkbox on the Netware (which is not a
> > 3rd party operating system as far as I'm concerned) 3.11 servers???
> >
> > I know that this post hasn't helped out your situation but maybe if Autodesk
> > knows that there may have been problems previous to A2k they might look at
> > other solutions???
> >
> > jason martin
> > frankfurt-short-bruza
> >
> > ps: bob - We still need to got shoot some beer and have a drink of pool.
> >
> > Bob Keefer wrote in message <8819lt$2mu18@adesk
> > news2.autodesk.com>...
> > ><<< Message <38A37609.4E6D5322@home.com> was originally posted to
> > 'autodesk.autocad.2000general' on Thu, 10 Feb 2000 20:38:01 -0600.>>>
> > >
> > >We just got AutoCAD 2000 installed this week at work, and we are having
> > >a frustrating time. Users will open drawings fine, but at some point
> > >during editing the drawing will "change" to Read Only, displaying an
> > >error that the drawing is in use by someone else and cannot be saved.
> > >Naturally that is not the case. It is affecting most of our users, and
> > >seems to be random and sporadic. It does not happen on every file with
> > >every user, nor is there a specific amount of time the drawing can be
> > >open or edited before it happens.
> > >
> > >All drawings are stored on a network file server (NT Server). All
> > >AutoCAD licenses are local installations. Machines are mostly HP Vectra
> > >P2-200 with onboard graphics, running WinNT 4, SP 3 or 5..
> > >
> > >AutoCAD settings: We have tried disabling Autosave, setting the "Demand
> > >load xrefs" to disabled, and setting "Incremental save percentage".
> > >Graphics acceleration is set to "software".
> > >
> > >Our dealer contacted Autodesk, but no help so far. I was checking this
> > >newsgroup for messages this past weekend, and saw several instances of
> > >the problem, including some on computers that were not on a network. In
> > >fact, with my personal license at home, I am getting save errors that
> > >display a message box: "Unable to save drawing "blah-blah" as it is
> > >being accessed by another session. Drawing saved to xxxx.ac$. I have a
> > >P2-266 dual, with plenty of RAM, and Windows NT4, SP5.
> > >
> > >If this has happened to you, would you please chime in? I need to
> > >demonstrate that the problem is not unique to us to try and get some
> > >help. Also, if you got it fixed, I would love to hear how!!
> > >
> > >Thanks!
> > >
> > >Bob Keefer
Active Contributor
alleng
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎11-13-2000
Message 24 of 28 (140 Views)

Re:

07-05-2000 07:42 PM in reply to: *Keefer, Bob
Bob, unfortunately we experience the same problem with R14 on an NT server. Going backwards doesn't always work. The only way to find out who has the file locked is to use the OLD Winfile command, select the file and use the "Open By" button. Good luck.
*Orr, Tommy
Message 25 of 28 (140 Views)

Re: Drawings changing to Read Only

10-25-2000 01:41 PM in reply to: *Keefer, Bob
My company was having this problem and it is or appears to have been
resolved. I am checking through my notes and will get back if there is
anything obvious. the thing we did when it first happened was to save it
locally and then delete the file off of the server and copy the local ond
over . You could also goto the server and check under the server icon and
see who it shows as having it open, because I do remember It would let the
1st person open it and then allow a second user to open the file and lock
the first person out.

also on your xrefs change them to overlay instead of attach.

Thanks
Tommy
"Bob Keefer" wrote in message
news:8819lt$2mu18@adesknews2.autodesk.com...
> <<< Message <38A37609.4E6D5322@home.com> was originally posted to
'autodesk.autocad.2000general' on Thu, 10 Feb 2000 20:38:01 -0600.>>>
>
> We just got AutoCAD 2000 installed this week at work, and we are having
> a frustrating time. Users will open drawings fine, but at some point
> during editing the drawing will "change" to Read Only, displaying an
> error that the drawing is in use by someone else and cannot be saved.
> Naturally that is not the case. It is affecting most of our users, and
> seems to be random and sporadic. It does not happen on every file with
> every user, nor is there a specific amount of time the drawing can be
> open or edited before it happens.
>
> All drawings are stored on a network file server (NT Server). All
> AutoCAD licenses are local installations. Machines are mostly HP Vectra
> P2-200 with onboard graphics, running WinNT 4, SP 3 or 5..
>
> AutoCAD settings: We have tried disabling Autosave, setting the "Demand
> load xrefs" to disabled, and setting "Incremental save percentage".
> Graphics acceleration is set to "software".
>
> Our dealer contacted Autodesk, but no help so far. I was checking this
> newsgroup for messages this past weekend, and saw several instances of
> the problem, including some on computers that were not on a network. In
> fact, with my personal license at home, I am getting save errors that
> display a message box: "Unable to save drawing "blah-blah" as it is
> being accessed by another session. Drawing saved to xxxx.ac$. I have a
> P2-266 dual, with plenty of RAM, and Windows NT4, SP5.
>
> If this has happened to you, would you please chime in? I need to
> demonstrate that the problem is not unique to us to try and get some
> help. Also, if you got it fixed, I would love to hear how!!
>
> Thanks!
>
> Bob Keefer
Active Member
daniel.bryan
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-26-2001
Message 26 of 28 (140 Views)

Re: Drawings changing to Read Only

06-08-2001 02:39 AM in reply to: *Keefer, Bob
I wanted to chime in just to show to Autodesk that we are all receiving this same problem. We have exactly the same problem though we are running NT SP6 clients on a Novell 5.1 server using Novell clients 4.7 - 4.8. Drawings say they are in use by another user though the server reports that the original user is the only one in the file. Please fix this! We have ruled out Xrefs, save increments, service packs and everything.
Active Contributor
emilyli
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎01-29-2003
Message 27 of 28 (140 Views)

Re: Drawings changing to Read Only

06-12-2001 02:02 AM in reply to: *Keefer, Bob
we are having the same problem.
we are running nt4 with sp6.

the server is significantly faster
than most machines and even the
slowest machine gets the error.

is it really the server?

emily
Active Member
daniel.bryan
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-26-2001
Message 28 of 28 (140 Views)

Re:

06-19-2001 10:55 PM in reply to: *Keefer, Bob
OK, I think Autodesk and Novell have finally come out with a fix for this problem. You need to visit Novell's site and search for document 2959385. Autodesk also has a technical document of the problem with the ID TS60877. It corrects the read-only problem for anyone running Novell 4 SP6 or Novell 5.x SP2A. We did the update last night, so we won't know for sure if it worked for several days.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.