Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
New Member
BARRYDONALDSON2873
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-14-2010
Message 1 of 5 (305 Views)

Design Suite fails to install

305 Views, 4 Replies
01-17-2013 07:16 AM

Design Suite Premium 2013 install worked only for REVIT, Sketchbook, and related products off the USB device.  AutoCAD 2013 failed to install.  Architecture 2013 appeared to install but activation screen did not come up.

Autodesk techs suggested removing the programs (as well as Sketchbook and similar programs) and reinstall without the SP1.  The products failed to uninstall using the microsoft control panel, so I used the AutoDesk removal tool on the website.

At the next install attempt, I configured each product WITHOUT the SP1 update, per AutoCad suggestion.  NONE of the programs iinstalled.  All failed.

So now I have lost even the few that did download.

Only REVIT seems to have correctly installed.

Any suggestions?

 

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,626
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 2 of 5 (299 Views)

Re: Design Suite fails to install

01-17-2013 08:55 AM in reply to: BARRYDONALDSON2873

Make sure you completely removed the C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD 2013 folder.  Sometimes some stuff is left in there and will prevent the reinstallation of the program. 

New Member
BARRYDONALDSON2873
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-14-2010
Message 3 of 5 (292 Views)

Re: Design Suite fails to install

01-17-2013 09:44 AM in reply to: BARRYDONALDSON2873

The files still show up in "All Programs" tree, but they are small.

I have tried several times to remove them, using both the Control Panel uninstall and the AutoDesk uninstall.

They are still there.

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,626
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 4 of 5 (288 Views)

Re: Design Suite fails to install

01-17-2013 09:49 AM in reply to: BARRYDONALDSON2873

The icons on the Start menu aren't problematic.  You need to actually remove the physical folder under My Computer > C Drive > Program Files > Autodesk > AutoCAD 2013.

 

To Diagnose and Fix installation problems automatically, please see the new Microsoft tool for this here:

http://support.microsoft.com/mats/Program_Install_and_Uninstall

For more information on the Autodesk KB Support article concerning the clean uninstall of Autodesk products, see this link:

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=2887771&linkID=9240617

For all other installation problems on Windows XP SP2 or below consider using the Microsoft Installer Clean Up Utility. For more information on this program, please my forum post here:

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Installation-Licensing/Microsoft-Installer-Clean-Up-Utility-for-Add-Re...

Product Support
dembkod
Posts: 664
Registered: ‎05-26-2010
Message 5 of 5 (274 Views)

Re: Design Suite fails to install

01-18-2013 01:32 PM in reply to: BARRYDONALDSON2873

BARRYDONALDSON2873,

 

Hello. For installs with multiple programs, for testing sake, at least, it is often useful to try and just install one program by itself to see if it will install alone. It is easier to try and install one program and possibly succeed, instead of installing all programs, failing on the last install and rolling back all the installations.

 

So, when installing, you should make sure of the following:

 

-Log into the client machine as an administrator

 

-Antivirus should be turned off

 

-Windows UAC should be turned off (Click the Windows button and in the run box type UAC and press enter and move the slider down)

 

-Any Malware protections should be turned off

 

After you have verified the above and still failed on an installation, we need to look at some other things:

 

-If you are installing from a USB stick, stop. Copy the contents off the stick to a local drive, preferably C:\

 

-If you are installing from a "deployment" image, stop. Install directly from the installer files instead.

 

-If you have any existing versions of AutoCAD 2013 installed, check the "Programs and Features" list from the Control Panel and click "View Installed Updates" at the top left of the screen. If you have any AutoCAD based 2013 Service packs installed, uninstall the Service Packs. You can reinstall them after.

 

-There could be a NET conflict. Open your Control panel and uninstall your NET entries. You can then let the program install them or go to Microsoft to download the latest and greatest. Beta NET installs should be removed.

 

-There could be a C++ redistributable problem. Your systems will likely have multiple. Uninstall the redistributables and let the program install them. I have seen the 2010 and 2008 redistributables in particular, cause grief.

 

Thank you for taking part in our community!

 

David Dembkoski

 

ADSK_logo_S_black_web.png

Product Support Specialist

Autodesk Product Support



David Dembkoski
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!