Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Valued Contributor
96 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎01-19-2009
Post 1 of 9

Create Deployment

531 Views, 8 Replies
06-24-2013 11:30 AM

Our server is outdated and it may be awhile before we update it. Want to create a deployment for Building Design Suite 2014. What would be the best way to install the suite. Can I go "install on this computer" for all users until we get an upgraded server or can I create a deployment onto an external hard drive and use that to install for the other users?

 

Kory Skoog

CADD Technician

*Expert Elite*
10,916 Posts
902 Kudos
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Post 2 of 9

Re: Create Deployment

06-24-2013 11:44 AM in reply to: igroup.kskoog

As for the deployment server location, it doesn't really matter how amazing the server is, so long as it has a decent network card and enough storage space. 

 

Otherwise, you can install direct from download as network version.  You don't technically need a deployment image if you choose not to.  I don't recommend creating a deployment to a removable drive though.  That one is a nightmare.

Valued Contributor
96 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎01-19-2009
Post 3 of 9

Re: Create Deployment

06-24-2013 11:55 AM in reply to: igroup.kskoog

Thanks for the reply. I tried to create a deployment on our server and I got and error message saying Building Design Suite 2014 is not supported by the operating system (Windows 2000 Server). So I could not go any further.

 

Kory Skoog

CADD Technician

*Expert Elite*
10,916 Posts
902 Kudos
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Post 4 of 9

Re: Create Deployment

06-24-2013 12:33 PM in reply to: igroup.kskoog
This is normal. Create the deployment from your workstation and target the
deployment location to the UNC share on the server. Done.
Valued Contributor
96 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎01-19-2009
Post 5 of 9

Re: Create Deployment

06-24-2013 12:48 PM in reply to: TravisNave

Ok I started setp. Now I get a message saying it cannot find "MediumImageLibrary2014.msi" file then it stops.

 

Kory Skoog

CADD Technician

*Expert Elite*
10,916 Posts
902 Kudos
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Post 6 of 9

Re: Create Deployment

06-24-2013 01:29 PM in reply to: igroup.kskoog

You need to disable your anti-virus. 

Valued Contributor
96 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎01-19-2009
Post 7 of 9

Re: Create Deployment

06-26-2013 08:41 AM in reply to: igroup.kskoog

When I try to choose a location for the deployment none of my drives show. Only "network" is an option. Thru network I cannot see any drives. Our server is drive I:\ which is not listed on the "network" nor is any other drive. Is 2014 only "network" based and no longer able to install on computers? Or is there a setting I am missing? Frustration is kicking in. Never had this much trouble before.

 

Kory Skoog

CADD Technician

*Expert Elite*
10,916 Posts
902 Kudos
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Post 8 of 9

Re: Create Deployment

06-26-2013 09:05 AM in reply to: igroup.kskoog
Create a share writable to everyone then use a UNC path as your target.
Product Support
471 Posts
30 Kudos
Registered: ‎03-29-2010
Post 9 of 9

Re: Create Deployment

06-27-2013 01:47 AM in reply to: igroup.kskoog

Do not use mapped drive. Use UNC path for your deployment location, like \\computername\sharedfolder. 

 


______________________________________________________________

If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly!






Emily Xu
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!