Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Active Member
robert.mcclellan
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-17-2012
Message 1 of 15 (311 Views)
Accepted Solution

Combined package files not working

311 Views, 14 Replies
12-04-2012 08:35 AM

I believe my needs are very simple: I have a package file(12 licenses) for ACAD 2013, 2012, 2100 and 2010. I have another package file (9 licenses) for ACAD 2009, 2008,2007 and 2006. I want to combine these files so I can use my one server for all versions. Both files were generated on the same date. I have followed the tutorials and how-to posts on combining, but the results are always the same: LMTOOLS shows 21 licenses of whichever package is at the top of the file - i.e., if I append the 2009 license info onto the 2013 file, I get 21 licenses of 2013, 2012, 2011 and 2010. If I append the 2013 info onto the 2009 file, I get 21 licenses of 2009, 2008, 2007 and 2006.

Thanks in advance.

were the 2009 products tied to any of the later version of the products?

if the (9) 2009s are on subscription that means they were automatically upgraded to 2010 then 2011, 2012, 2013 if the 2009s serial #s are tied to an active subscription contract you aren't allowed to use them anymore per the Autodesk License agreement you have to  get an exception from autodesk to use them again

so you need to make sure these aren't tied to any of the 2013 serial numbers

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,323
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 2 of 15 (306 Views)

Re: Combined package files not working

12-04-2012 09:15 AM in reply to: robert.mcclellan

are all these on subscription?

were the 2009 products tied to any of the later version of the products

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,323
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 3 of 15 (301 Views)

Re: Combined package files not working

12-04-2012 09:21 AM in reply to: DarrenP

if they are on subscription you copying the package statement from each license file?

Active Member
robert.mcclellan
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-17-2012
Message 4 of 15 (297 Views)

Re: Combined package files not working

12-04-2012 09:36 AM in reply to: DarrenP

Both are subscription products. I'm copying both the PACKAGE and INCREMENT sections from the license file I wish to add.

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,323
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 5 of 15 (292 Views)

Re: Combined package files not working

12-04-2012 09:49 AM in reply to: robert.mcclellan

try running the license file through this: www.licenseparser.com

to see if it does have the correct numbers

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,323
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 6 of 15 (286 Views)

Re: Combined package files not working

12-04-2012 10:01 AM in reply to: DarrenP

were the 2009 products tied to any of the later version of the products?

if the (9) 2009s are on subscription that means they were automatically upgraded to 2010 then 2011, 2012, 2013 if the 2009s serial #s are tied to an active subscription contract you aren't allowed to use them anymore per the Autodesk License agreement you have to  get an exception from autodesk to use them again

so you need to make sure these aren't tied to any of the 2013 serial numbers

Active Member
robert.mcclellan
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-17-2012
Message 7 of 15 (285 Views)

Re: Combined package files not working

12-04-2012 10:02 AM in reply to: DarrenP

It's showing what LMTOOLS is reporting - 21 licenses for 2009 to 2006. See attached.

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,323
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 8 of 15 (272 Views)

Re: Combined package files not working

12-04-2012 10:46 AM in reply to: robert.mcclellan

thats correct

are you also copying the plist information from the 2009 license file?

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,323
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 9 of 15 (268 Views)

Re: Combined package files not working

12-04-2012 10:49 AM in reply to: DarrenP

somewhere something is not getting copied and pastied correctly

Community Manager
philip.s
Posts: 2,514
Registered: ‎09-27-2011
Message 10 of 15 (263 Views)

Re: Combined package files not working

12-04-2012 11:05 AM in reply to: DarrenP

Hi Robert,

 

As Darren mentioned above, as this is still on Subscription, your license would be upgraded to 2013 and would permit previous version use of current plus 3 versions back, which matches up with the license file that I see was created yesterday for 12 seats of AutoCAD 2013 (what shows on your attachment as 2009). Did you edit the components by chance?

 

Additionally, it looks like the other serial number that you are using corresponds to your 2009 license (9 seats), which was upgraded and rolled up into the the 2013 one mentioned above (12 seats).



Philip Schmelzer
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.