Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
New Member
bittyjunior
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-28-2013
Message 1 of 3 (961 Views)

changing 32 bit to 64 bit using same serial number/product key

961 Views, 2 Replies
11-05-2013 05:35 AM

Hi,

 

I'm running AutoCAD LT 2013 on Windows 7 professional 32 bit. I want to change to Windows 7 64 bit in order to add more RAM to my laptop (the current 4gb RAM doesn't sem to be enough)

 

I gather I have to do a clean install of Windows to upgrade to 64 bit, but is it then possible for me to re-download the AutoCAD 2013 LT from Autodesk in 64 bit and then install using the same product key/serial number as my 32 bit software?

 

Thanks for any help

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,899
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 3 (959 Views)

Re: changing 32 bit to 64 bit using same serial number/product key

11-05-2013 05:43 AM in reply to: bittyjunior

Yes, you can use the same product key/serial number for both variants of LT2013.

 

But you need to contact your laptop manufacturer and confirm you can go to Windows 64bit and still be able to use your laptop/drivers etc. first.

 

PS: why do you think you need more RAM for LT2013? Laptops are slow, more RAM is not going to speed things up much.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
New Member
bittyjunior
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-28-2013
Message 3 of 3 (947 Views)

Re: changing 32 bit to 64 bit using same serial number/product key

11-05-2013 06:43 AM in reply to: pendean

Thanks for the quick reply!

 

I'm just exploring all options concerning upgrading at the moment. I know going the desktop route is by far the best but funds are tight. I also use programs like Solidworks etc so need to squeeze as much out of my laptop as I can.

 

Anyway, thanks for the information, much appreciated.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.