Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
New Member
1 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎10-20-2010
Post 11 of 37

Re: Cannot install on the current operating system?

10-20-2010 06:46 PM in reply to: diamond01a

"My problem is with the installation. When the download is complete a message pops up and says install, so i install. once that is done another screen comes up where it says install the product, create deployments, install tools and utilities and read the documentation. so i select install the product and the message appears "you cannot install this product on the current operating system." (this is for AutoCAD 2011)"

 

I am having this EXACT same problem and I didn't see any solution.

 

I am trying to install the 30 day Trial version. I have tried to install the trial versions of both AutoCAD and AutoCAD Lite 2011 to no avail. I am running Windows 7 Home Premium.

 

Someone help!

New Member
2 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎10-20-2010
Post 12 of 37

Re: Cannot install on the current operating system?

10-20-2010 08:47 PM in reply to: equipt93

Me too!  I've got the AutoCAD 2011 Student Version.  It came with 2 discs.  One disc is labeled "64-bit", disc 2 is labeled "32 bit & 64 bit".

 

I'm running Windows XP Pro SP3 (32 Bit), and when I try to install from the setup.exe on disc 1, it says "You cannot install this product on this Operating System".  I can't find any setup files on disc 2.

 

What is going on?

Alumni
642 Posts
15 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-16-2008
Post 13 of 37

Re: Cannot install on the current operating system?

10-21-2010 08:56 AM in reply to: cinepro

For Windows XP 32-bit you will need:

 

32-bit Disk 1 of 2 (32-bit installer is on this disk)

and

32-bit and 64-bit disk 2 of 2



Douglas Lauritsen
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

New Member
2 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎10-20-2010
Post 14 of 37

Re: Cannot install on the current operating system?

10-21-2010 10:05 AM in reply to: equipt93

For Windows XP 32-bit you will need:

 

32-bit Disk 1 of 2 (32-bit installer is on this disk)

and

32-bit and 64-bit disk 2 of 2

 

Thanks for the info, Douglas.  How can I exchange the discs I have for this version?

Alumni
642 Posts
15 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-16-2008
Post 15 of 37

Re: Cannot install on the current operating system?

10-21-2010 01:26 PM in reply to: cinepro

The media you have should contain all three DVD’s. If not you should contact your reseller or the Autodesk Business Center for replacement media.



Douglas Lauritsen
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

*Expert Elite*
28,641 Posts
2,129 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Post 16 of 37

Re: Cannot install on the current operating system?

10-21-2010 01:51 PM in reply to: cinepro

cinepro wrote:

Me too!  I've got the AutoCAD 2011 Student Version.  It came with 2 discs.  One disc is labeled "64-bit", disc 2 is labeled "32 bit & 64 bit".

 


Also, students can download Student Version (32-bit or 64-bit) for free 36-month student license from http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Alumni
642 Posts
15 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-16-2008
Post 17 of 37

Cannot install on the current operating system?

10-30-2010 08:45 PM in reply to: diamond01a
New Member
1 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎01-29-2011
Post 18 of 37

Re: Cannot install on the current operating system?

01-29-2011 03:19 AM in reply to: DouglasLauritsen

Hello.  I am facing the same problem trying to install autocad architecture 2011.  H/W and S/W config are OK, but I still receive the error message.

 

Just spent 6 hours on this...any help would be greatly appreciated...thanks,

*Expert Elite*
28,641 Posts
2,129 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Post 19 of 37

Re: Cannot install on the current operating system?

01-30-2011 04:21 PM in reply to: mojito_caipirinha

Post a screen capture of your system specifications here.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
New Member
1 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎02-02-2011
Post 20 of 37

Re: Cannot install on the current operating system?

02-02-2011 07:05 AM in reply to: diamond01a

I overcame this problem with the Alias package by locating the actual install file and running that rather than the setup file.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!