Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Active Member
orenofer
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-25-2013
Message 1 of 15 (1,147 Views)

cannot find network license manager

1147 Views, 14 Replies
06-25-2013 04:44 AM

HI,

I'm trying to setup inventor pro 2014 with a network license manager. 

I've followed the instructions and LMTOOLS acknowledges that the server is UP. 

I've down this twice: once on a dedicated network license manager and one on my own computer where i have installed the inventor. In either cases, I receive the same problem:

When i start inventor it prompts me to either a license file or the license manager computer host name. Neither work: After several times, of inputing the host name, or giving the license file, I receive "A valid license could not be obtained by the network license manager" error [-1.359.2]

 

I tried opening port 2080 on the windows firewall. no change. 

 

Please advice. 

Thanks

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,671
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 2 of 15 (1,139 Views)

Re: cannot find network license manager

06-25-2013 06:09 AM in reply to: orenofer

can you ping the license server by hostname?

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,671
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 3 of 15 (1,137 Views)

Re: cannot find network license manager

06-25-2013 06:12 AM in reply to: DarrenP

The FLEXlm® based version uses the following ports:
TCP ports 2080 (for the adskflex vendor daemon)
TCP ports 27000 to 27009 (for the lmgrd master daemon)

 

you also have to allow these ports through the firewall

Active Member
orenofer
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-25-2013
Message 4 of 15 (1,131 Views)

Re: cannot find network license manager

06-25-2013 06:41 AM in reply to: DarrenP

yes. no problem there.

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,671
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 5 of 15 (1,128 Views)

Re: cannot find network license manager

06-25-2013 06:45 AM in reply to: orenofer

orenofer wrote:

 

When i start inventor it prompts me to either a license file or the license manager computer host name. Neither work: After several times, of inputing the host name, or giving the license file, I receive "A valid license could not be obtained by the network license manager" error [-1.359.2]

 

 

 

Please advice. 

Thanks


what if you use the Ip address instead?
then does inventor find a license

Active Member
orenofer
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-25-2013
Message 6 of 15 (1,127 Views)

Re: cannot find network license manager

06-25-2013 06:47 AM in reply to: DarrenP

I've opened these ports. no change ;-( .

"A valid license could not be obtained by the network license manager." Error [-15.570.0]

 

 

Active Member
orenofer
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-25-2013
Message 7 of 15 (1,122 Views)

Re: cannot find network license manager

06-25-2013 06:49 AM in reply to: DarrenP

nop. by using directly the IP doesn't help either. as well as 127.0.0.1 , localhost ..

 

Mentor
Darin.Green
Posts: 179
Registered: ‎05-18-2008
Message 8 of 15 (1,119 Views)

Re: cannot find network license manager

06-25-2013 06:57 AM in reply to: orenofer

Can you post the log file for the license manager?

Darin Green
Synergis Technologies

If this resolve your issue/question, give Kudos or Accept as Solution...
Active Member
orenofer
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-25-2013
Message 9 of 15 (1,112 Views)

Re: cannot find network license manager

06-25-2013 07:29 AM in reply to: Darin.Green

Here attached. 

Mentor
Darin.Green
Posts: 179
Registered: ‎05-18-2008
Message 10 of 15 (1,099 Views)

Re: cannot find network license manager

06-25-2013 08:47 AM in reply to: orenofer

Is the License Manager and Inventor installed on the same machine? If so, try to completely disable the firewall and check the following registry key:

 

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\FLEXlm License Manager

 

There should be a file named "ADSKFLEX_LICENSE_FILE" with a long string to the licpath.lic file.


Clear the value field and enter "@servername;@server IP address" <-- replace the text after each @ symbol with the correct information then try to start the application.

 

Darin Green
Synergis Technologies

If this resolve your issue/question, give Kudos or Accept as Solution...
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.