Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Contributor
carl_savard
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎08-29-2013
Message 1 of 20 (374 Views)

Can't install Revit "contentpackui.dll fail to load"

374 Views, 19 Replies
09-03-2013 12:35 PM

Hi!

 

I tried to install REVIT MEP 2012 student version, and this is the message I get  : "contentpackui.dll fail to load". And then the installation stops.

 

can anyone help?

 

Thanks!

 

 

Product Support
aaronhai
Posts: 247
Registered: ‎03-25-2010
Message 2 of 20 (346 Views)

Re: Can't install Revit "contentpackui.dll fail to load"

09-04-2013 02:59 AM in reply to: carl_savard

Hi carl_savard,

 

Welcome to Autodesk Discussion Group.

Please attempt the installation on Diagnostic Mode and ensure you have Local Administrator permission on your machine. Let us know if that works.

 

Thank you.



Aaron Hai
Contributor
carl_savard
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎08-29-2013
Message 3 of 20 (336 Views)

Re: Can't install Revit "contentpackui.dll fail to load"

09-04-2013 05:56 AM in reply to: aaronhai

Hi!

 

I am administrator on my computer, but i can't find the "FLEXnet Licensing Service" for the startup in diagnostic mode.

 

However I did some more researche and, would it be possible that REVIT MEP 2012 can't be installed on windows 8 (because that's what I'm running)?

 

Thanks!

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,149
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 4 of 20 (316 Views)

Re: Can't install Revit "contentpackui.dll fail to load"

09-04-2013 08:38 AM in reply to: carl_savard

Revit 2012 is definitely not supported on Windows 8.  Neither is 2013.  Only the 2014 product is supported. 

 

You might sign up to get the 2014 student edition.

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Contributor
carl_savard
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎08-29-2013
Message 5 of 20 (310 Views)

Re: Can't install Revit "contentpackui.dll fail to load"

09-04-2013 09:11 AM in reply to: TravisNave

Well that explains it!

 

With my student account the Autodesk website allows me to download the 2011 and 2012 version. Is there a way to get the 2014 REVIT MEP student version (or LTE) direcly from Autodesk at no fees like the 2012 one?

 

Thanks all!

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,149
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 6 of 20 (306 Views)

Re: Can't install Revit "contentpackui.dll fail to load"

09-04-2013 09:22 AM in reply to: carl_savard

The student program is still active for 2014.   You should be able to get it here:

 

http://students.autodesk.com/?nd=download_center

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Contributor
carl_savard
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎08-29-2013
Message 7 of 20 (300 Views)

Re: Can't install Revit "contentpackui.dll fail to load"

09-04-2013 09:40 AM in reply to: TravisNave

My bad!

 

I did'n see that MEP is now part of the REVIT package.

 

Downloading now!

 

Thanks!

Contributor
carl_savard
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎08-29-2013
Message 8 of 20 (289 Views)

Re: Can't install Revit "contentpackui.dll fail to load"

09-04-2013 10:54 AM in reply to: TravisNave

Downloaded REVIT 2014, now while trying to install, it says that adDLM.DLL is missing, and installation won't start...

 

Those Autodesk software are hard to install haha

 

any insight?

 

thanks!

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,149
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 9 of 20 (280 Views)

Re: Can't install Revit "contentpackui.dll fail to load"

09-04-2013 11:50 AM in reply to: carl_savard

carl_savard wrote:

Those Autodesk software are hard to install haha

 


Agreed!

 

Right-click your setup.exe and change the properties to run as Windows XP SP3 compatibility mode.  Then run it as Administrator. 

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Contributor
carl_savard
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎08-29-2013
Message 10 of 20 (276 Views)

Re: Can't install Revit "contentpackui.dll fail to load"

09-04-2013 12:29 PM in reply to: TravisNave

Did that, now the installation screen appears, (no more .DLL problems) , but now REVIT says that it can't be installed on my explotation system.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.