Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
New Member
2 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-22-2010
Post 1 of 10
Accepted Solution

Can't Install on a non-bootable Hard drive

6262 Views, 9 Replies
04-11-2012 07:03 AM

Hello,

 

I just recieved my copy of Revit Structure 2013. I am running a SSD with very limited space left (about 3gb). I also have another hard drive for programs. I want to install Revit 2013 onto the other Hard drive. So during install I change the "Installation Path" from C:\Programs\Autodesk (SSD) to B:\Programs\Autodesk (the other Hard drive). But even doing this it still wants to install 9.23gb on the SSD and only 873mb on the other hard drive. Whats going on here? Any suggestions?

 

 

Thanks!!!

By default all the Templates and Libraries for Revit are still trying to install to C:\ProgramData.

On the product selection dialog of the install, just under the Revit Structure 2013 name pick the arrow to configure the install.

Scroll down to the Configurable Folders section

Change the Libraries and Templates from Default to Local

Specify a path on the B driver where you want these files and choose the Append button

When done choose the arrow again to complete the configuration

Should use much less space on the C drive now although some space will still be required.

*Expert Elite*
10,849 Posts
893 Kudos
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Post 2 of 10

Re: Can't Install on a non-bootable Hard drive

04-11-2012 08:25 AM in reply to: chris

There are always going to be files that will need to be installed to your root.  These are files linking to your profile, system dlls, prerequisite installs, material libraries, SQL server, etc. 

 

You should really make sure that you always have no less than 20% free space on your C:\. Consider moving your swap file and other files to your extra drives. 

Employee
334 Posts
62 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-17-2007
Post 3 of 10

Re: Can't Install on a non-bootable Hard drive

04-11-2012 10:02 AM in reply to: chris

By default all the Templates and Libraries for Revit are still trying to install to C:\ProgramData.

On the product selection dialog of the install, just under the Revit Structure 2013 name pick the arrow to configure the install.

Scroll down to the Configurable Folders section

Change the Libraries and Templates from Default to Local

Specify a path on the B driver where you want these files and choose the Append button

When done choose the arrow again to complete the configuration

Should use much less space on the C drive now although some space will still be required.



Danny Hubbard
QA Analyst
Autodesk, Inc.
New Member
2 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-22-2010
Post 4 of 10

Re: Can't Install on a non-bootable Hard drive

04-11-2012 10:35 AM in reply to: DannyHubbard

Thanks Danny. That worked. Installed and running!

New Member
1 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-14-2012
Post 5 of 10

Re: Can't Install on a non-bootable Hard drive

06-14-2012 11:01 AM in reply to: DannyHubbard

Im have the exact same problem except with the Building design suite, however I cannot even make it to the product select screen in the installer, i'm met with this message when I go to install

 

The system cannot find the path specified.

C:\Users\Name\AppData\Local\Temp\_AI2DD4.tmp\Content\ADSKMaterials\2013\ILM\MediumImageLibrary2013.msi

 

Any help would be greatly appreiciated.

*Expert Elite*
10,849 Posts
893 Kudos
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Post 6 of 10

Re: Can't Install on a non-bootable Hard drive

06-15-2012 08:50 AM in reply to: danielgriffiths8797

Install as another user with local admin rights, UAC turned off, and anti-virus disabled. 

New Member
1 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎02-15-2013
Post 7 of 10

Re: Can't Install on a non-bootable Hard drive

02-15-2013 05:06 AM in reply to: DannyHubbard

There is no configurable folders section if trying to use mudbox.

New Member
2 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎02-08-2011
Post 8 of 10

Re: Can't Install on a non-bootable Hard drive

09-26-2013 05:52 AM in reply to: chris

I am trying to install the 2014 release and it doesn't seem to be possible to change the installation directory of the core software to another drive than the boot drive.

Please, you can't be serious to require almost 7GB of free space on drive C. I won't be able to free up that much space. It was possible in former version to install to another drive. Why can't I do this anymore and what should I tell my students who need this software for a lab assignment?

Please fix this.

 

Edit: Just to describe the problem more accurately: I can change the installation path in the bottom of the installer window, but it doesn't seem to have any effect, because on the lower right it says "required space 0.98 GB" so I am assuming, that the installer tries to install the material libraries to drive D: and the core application to drive C:. When I hit install a window pops up telling me there is not enough space on drive C:

*Expert Elite*
10,849 Posts
893 Kudos
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Post 9 of 10

Re: Can't Install on a non-bootable Hard drive

09-26-2013 07:38 AM in reply to: schwoe

Please understand that some parts of the installation files are necessary to be installed on the root system drive. Shortcuts, registry settings, and profile customizations are all examples of this. However, you may be able to make some system changes that will allow you to install your Autodesk product and avoid this error. Please review my KB article for more information:

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Installation-Licensing/Out-of-disk-space-during-installation-to-anothe...

Good Luck!

New Member
1 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎02-25-2014
Post 10 of 10

Re: Can't Install on a non-bootable Hard drive

02-25-2014 02:48 AM in reply to: chris

I know how to do if you still dont have sapce in C: and you want install in other disk:

First follow the above instructions to free disk space. (have at least 3 o 4 gb free on C:smileyhappy:

Then:

1) backup setup.ini

2) delete from setup.ini the lines:

DISKCOST_FUNC=BSDGetDiskCost

DISKCOST_SOURCE=Setup\AecSetup.dll 

3) modify the lines DISKCOST=3000000 or similar to DISKCOST=30

4) installa and change the install disk to d:, e or the disk that you have enought space

That worked for me

Regards

Andres

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post