Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Member
romtinerfani
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-08-2013
Message 1 of 12 (1,222 Views)
Accepted Solution

Can't install Mudbox 2013...

1222 Views, 11 Replies
04-09-2013 02:35 PM

Hi guys,

 

I'm trying to install the 64 bit version of Mudbox for Windows 7. I run the setup, enter the product key and set a custom location but it keeps failing immediately and I get this message:

Capture.JPG

 

 

 

I tried selecting the 30-day trial instead and not changing the default install location, but no good. It just keeps failing to install.

 

Here's a copy/paste of the log file, dunno if it's very helpful:

 

-----------------------------

2013/4/9:14:24:48    Romtin    ROMTIN-PC    === Setup started on ROMTIN-PC by Romtin ===
2013/4/9:14:24:48    Romtin    ROMTIN-PC    Launch
2013/4/9:14:24:48    Romtin    ROMTIN-PC    PageOpen    LaunchDialog        
2013/4/9:14:24:55    Romtin    ROMTIN-PC    PageOpen    LicenseDialog        
2013/4/9:14:24:57    Romtin    ROMTIN-PC    PageOpen    ProductInfoDialog        
2013/4/9:14:25:20    Romtin    ROMTIN-PC    PageOpen    ProductSelectionDialog2        
2013/4/9:14:25:22    Romtin    ROMTIN-PC    PageOpen    FullProgressDialog        
2013/4/9:14:25:22    Romtin    ROMTIN-PC    Installing Autodesk® Mudbox® 2013:  TRANSFORMS="C:\Users\Romtin\AppData\Local\Temp\_AIFB02.tmp\x64\Mudbox\Mudbox2013.0-standalone.mst" ADSK_EULA_STATUS=#1 MUILANG=en-us ADSK_SOURCE_ROOT="M:\mudboxInstall\" INSTALLDIR="C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Mudbox 2013\" FILESINUSETEXT="" REBOOT=ReallySuppress ADSK_SETUP_EXE=1

 2013/4/9:14:25:23    Romtin    ROMTIN-PC    Install    Autodesk® Mudbox® 2013    Failed    Installation aborted, Result=1603

---------------------------------

 

 

 

 

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,315
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 2 of 12 (1,217 Views)

Re: Can't install Mudbox 2013...

04-09-2013 02:58 PM in reply to: romtinerfani

read this: http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Installation-Licensing/Some-Products-Fail-to-Install-Result-1603/td-p/...

a 1603 error is a generic windows error that can be caused by multiple things with multiple solutions



 

 

Member
romtinerfani
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-08-2013
Message 3 of 12 (1,188 Views)

Re: Can't install Mudbox 2013...

04-09-2013 07:48 PM in reply to: DarrenP

thx darren,

 

i don't have issues with prerequisites like C++ or .NET failing. I even altered the .ini (setup) file to not search for those and it still failed. actually the prerequisites don't even show up all i see is mudbox failing.

 

I turned UAC off and I'm running as admin on my computer (plus I'm the only user). I have no anti-virus software and I turned off my Windows firewall... Still didn't work. I also tried using default location for install and selected NO Service pack but no good...

 

I tried Maya 2013 as well, and it failed too. Same issue.

 

Anyone, please!

 

 

 

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,315
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 4 of 12 (1,126 Views)

Re: Can't install Mudbox 2013...

04-10-2013 05:59 AM in reply to: romtinerfani
*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,250
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 5 of 12 (1,111 Views)

Re: Can't install Mudbox 2013...

04-10-2013 03:29 PM in reply to: romtinerfani

Try installing as a different user with admin rights. 

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Member
romtinerfani
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-08-2013
Message 6 of 12 (1,099 Views)

Re: Can't install Mudbox 2013...

04-10-2013 09:20 PM in reply to: TravisNave

just got back home not too long ago...

 

tried running in windows diagnostic as per those linked instructions, Darren. didn't work..

 

now I guess I'll make a new user with admin priviledges on my computer and try Travis' idea.

 

I never mentioned I already have Maya 2012 (student edition) on this computer. Installed it back in August last year with no problems whatsoever. Could that be the problem? I can't afford to risk uninstalling that, I go back to school on Monday and I need it.

 

 

 

Replies, anyone and everyone, please:smileyhappy:

Member
romtinerfani
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-08-2013
Message 7 of 12 (1,090 Views)

Re: Can't install Mudbox 2013...

04-10-2013 11:08 PM in reply to: romtinerfani

AWESOME! thank you so much Travis. I made a separate user account with admin priviledges and ran the install. i literally gasped when the install bar stayed on the screen and Mudbox successfully installed. I chose to manually install the service packs, but that didn't take more than a few seconds.

 

Again, this had been driving me nuts since Monday night so thank you so much everyone!!

 

 

 

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,250
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 8 of 12 (1,080 Views)

Re: Can't install Mudbox 2013...

04-11-2013 05:09 AM in reply to: romtinerfani
Excellent. Glad you are up and running.
Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Member
_AKS_
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-02-2013
Message 9 of 12 (970 Views)

Re: Can't install Mudbox 2013...

06-03-2013 02:08 AM in reply to: romtinerfani

Delete "C:\ProgramData\Autodesk\AdLM\ProductInformation.pit". I may solve your problem.

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,250
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 10 of 12 (956 Views)

Re: Can't install Mudbox 2013...

06-04-2013 07:15 AM in reply to: _AKS_

_AKS_ wrote:

Delete "C:\ProgramData\Autodesk\AdLM\ProductInformation.pit". I may solve your problem.


This is a closed thread, and deleting this file has no impact on the problem by the OP.  This file should never be deleted unless there is a licensing error preventing activation or installation due to the corruption of that file. It will be obvious if it needs to be deleted by the error.  If you delete this file, you will lose activation for all of the Autodesk products installed on your machine.  It should only be done as a last resort and for the specific problem that is needed. 

If you wish to help on the boards, we welcome it.  However, please assist current and unsolved questions with specific known solutions to the problem. 

 

Thanks.

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.