Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
New Member
modulcad
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-28-2011
Message 1 of 13 (6,613 Views)

Can't install AutoCAD 2012 because 4.5 net framework is installed.

6613 Views, 12 Replies
10-24-2011 10:02 AM

I cannot install AutoCAD 2012 because installation of .net 4.0 fails. Direct installation of .net 4.0will not occure because higher version (.net framework 4.5) has aleady been installed on my computer (while installing Visaul Studio 2011 Preview).

 

Do you have any suggestion?

 

Juraj Lutisan

modulCAD Ltd.

Product Support
david.lau
Posts: 1,489
Registered: ‎06-18-2008
Message 2 of 13 (6,581 Views)

Re: Can't install AutoCAD 2012 because 4.5 net framework is installed.

10-26-2011 02:53 PM in reply to: modulcad

You may need to research on how to uninstall .NET 4.5.  This looks like a developer preview of it.

 

http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/details.aspx?id=27537



David Lau
New Member
modulcad
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-28-2011
Message 3 of 13 (6,568 Views)

Re: Can't install AutoCAD 2012 because 4.5 net framework is installed.

10-27-2011 06:57 AM in reply to: modulcad

But our new product is based on .net 4.5 so I cannot uninstall it. Can I reinstall .net 4.5 after AutoCAD installation? Will be AutoCAD 2012 still functional?

Product Support
david.lau
Posts: 1,489
Registered: ‎06-18-2008
Message 4 of 13 (6,566 Views)

Re: Can't install AutoCAD 2012 because 4.5 net framework is installed.

10-27-2011 07:07 AM in reply to: modulcad

You can try that but it is unsupported.  Please let us know...this is an interesting problem.



David Lau
Contributor
kienduday
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎03-02-2012
Message 5 of 13 (6,382 Views)

Re: Can't install AutoCAD 2012 because 4.5 net framework is installed.

03-02-2012 12:31 PM in reply to: david.lau

Me too , I can't install AutoCad becuse framework 4.5 . please fix install file !

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,642
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 6 of 13 (6,379 Views)

Re: Can't install AutoCAD 2012 because 4.5 net framework is installed.

03-02-2012 12:38 PM in reply to: kienduday

Uninstall Frameworks 4.5, install AutoCAD, reinstall 4.5 and see what happens: that's what the Autodesk folks above are suggesting. Not sure what else you want them to do at this stage.

 

You can, if you feel lucky, try and edit the AutOCAD installer to skip over the NET4 installation process: another more elaborate option.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Contributor
kienduday
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎03-02-2012
Message 7 of 13 (6,374 Views)

Re: Can't install AutoCAD 2012 because 4.5 net framework is installed.

03-02-2012 12:46 PM in reply to: pendean

I can't uninstall framework 4.5 . This is default on windows 8 . I was test all software that uninstall framework but I can't uninstall it.

Now , I have 2 frameworks , one is 3.5 and one is 4.5 . I can uninstall framework 3.5 but 4.5 , I can't .

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,642
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 8 of 13 (6,368 Views)

Re: Can't install AutoCAD 2012 because 4.5 net framework is installed.

03-02-2012 12:52 PM in reply to: kienduday

Read the post from TravisNave in this thread:

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/CAD-Managers/Anyone-try-Windows-8-Developer-preview/td-p/3349977

 

You're ahead of the curve, you're pretty much on your own until Win8 is officially released and supported: so you need to be open minded about work-arounds and do them.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,736
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 9 of 13 (6,367 Views)

Re: Can't install AutoCAD 2012 because 4.5 net framework is installed.

03-02-2012 12:54 PM in reply to: kienduday

Keep in mind that AutoCAD 2012 is not supported on Windows 8.  However, I was able to get it installed successfully.  I posted my steps on Dean's post here:

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/CAD-Managers/Anyone-try-Windows-8-Developer-preview/m-p/3352895#M84974

Contributor
Alexey.Terno
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎01-21-2012
Message 10 of 13 (5,871 Views)

Re: Can't install AutoCAD 2012 because 4.5 net framework is installed.

05-29-2012 10:40 PM in reply to: modulcad

I have AutoCAD Civil 3D 2012 on my laptop. After installing Visual Studio 2011 with .NET 4.5 Civil3D won't work correctly - fatal errors after opening any dialogs in Civil3D... I had to uninstall VS2011 and .NET 4.5 to reinstall .NET 4.0 for Civil3D repair.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.