Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
New Member
Mstandar
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-18-2011
Message 1 of 8 (1,151 Views)
Accepted Solution

Can't Install 3dsmax 2014

1151 Views, 7 Replies
12-29-2013 02:02 AM
Hi. Im trying to install 3Dsmax 2014 from the education community, on my new cumputer. But i get an error message right after I have started the installation I have tried all the download/installation options (Install Now, Download Now, Brower Downlaod) But I keep getting the error in the attached image. The only difference between the errors I have got seems to be the "FirstRun ThreadID" My computer have the following specifications Windows 8.1 Intel Core I7 4770k 16GB crucial ballistix Sport 240GB Crucial SSD (System Drive) And a bunch of harddrives for filestorage. Thanks in advance for any help. /Marcus

Hello and thanks for your quick answer.

 

I think I have good news then. I had installed windows 8.1 only yesterday and I had many issues, but then I uppdated windows and video drivers and everything´s working just fine. 3ds Max is running very smooth.

 

Thanks once again :smileyvery-happy:

Product Support
david.lau
Posts: 1,511
Registered: ‎06-18-2008
Message 2 of 8 (1,106 Views)

Re: Can't Install 3dsmax 2014

01-03-2014 12:26 PM in reply to: Mstandar

Can you attach the error mesage as a .jpg or .png file?



David Lau
New Member
adlerfg
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-22-2014
Message 3 of 8 (1,070 Views)

Re: Can't Install 3dsmax 2014

01-22-2014 01:55 PM in reply to: Mstandar

I´m experiencing the same issue. I´m trying to install 3ds Max student Swedish version on a Mac running windows 8.1. I downloaded the software but I get a message (in Swedish). I'll try to translate.  "Error, the path to the network is incorrect, is missing or otherwise is this path not available at the moment. Type the path again or contact the network administrator"

What should I do? Path to C: is on Bootcamp.

 

Thanks for your help.

 

Community Manager
jessica.t
Posts: 2,008
Registered: ‎02-28-2012
Message 4 of 8 (1,062 Views)

Re: Can't Install 3dsmax 2014

01-22-2014 03:47 PM in reply to: adlerfg

Hello Adler and welcome to the Autodesk Community!

 

It's possible you're receiving this error because none of our products are supported on Windows 8.1. Is it possible for you to roll back to Windows 8?



Jessica Thrasher
New Member
adlerfg
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-22-2014
Message 5 of 8 (1,051 Views)

Re: Can't Install 3dsmax 2014

01-23-2014 02:43 AM in reply to: jessica.t

Hello and thanks for your quick answer.

 

I think I have good news then. I had installed windows 8.1 only yesterday and I had many issues, but then I uppdated windows and video drivers and everything´s working just fine. 3ds Max is running very smooth.

 

Thanks once again :smileyvery-happy:

Community Manager
jessica.t
Posts: 2,008
Registered: ‎02-28-2012
Message 6 of 8 (1,039 Views)

Re: Can't Install 3dsmax 2014

01-23-2014 04:29 PM in reply to: adlerfg

Wonderful! So glad to hear it! If you need any other help you know where to find us!



Jessica Thrasher
New Member
khungdanxua
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-19-2014
Message 7 of 8 (547 Views)

Re: Can't Install 3dsmax 2014

05-20-2014 11:08 AM in reply to: jessica.t

i used windows 8.1 64bit. I can't installer 3ds max 2014. When i installed it 's display windows installer. When i click ok. then setup was fail. How to fix it?

Thank you.

Community Manager
jessica.t
Posts: 2,008
Registered: ‎02-28-2012
Message 8 of 8 (478 Views)

Re: Can't Install 3dsmax 2014

06-04-2014 03:06 PM in reply to: khungdanxua

Hi @khungdanxua and welcome to the community!

 

You may want to try re-downloading taking the precautions below:

 

  • In the preferences or options area of your preferred browser, remove pop-up blockers and allow access to all *autodesk.com sites.
  • In the preferences or options area of your preferred browser, delete cookies, temporary internet files, and history.
  • Turn off your personal firewall or VPN, if you use one.
  • Disable UAC
  • Close and reopen your preferred browser.
  • Re-download your software from the Virtual Agent


Please let me know if this helps! If not, please reply with your installation log. Thank you!



Jessica Thrasher
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.