Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Member
041314855
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-07-2013
Message 1 of 23 (6,726 Views)
Accepted Solution

can't activate autocad 2014(student version)

6726 Views, 22 Replies
08-07-2013 09:59 AM

I downloaded autocad 2014, and for some reason I can't activate it.

An error appears trying to find the license.

It took me so long to download this huge program file and now I can't even open it. Very frustrating....

 

margea370,

 

Hello. Your blank screen is likely a result of having Internet Explorer 10 installed. Uninstall it.

  1. In the Windows Control Panel, go to Programs and Features
  2. Click Turn Windows features on or off
  3. Uncheck the Internet Explorer 10 box and click "OK". Let the process run
  4. After the system finishes processing, reboot the machine
  5. In the Windows Control Panel, go to Programs and Features
  6. Click "View Installed Updates"
  7. Locate the update for Internet Explorer 10 and select it and click "Uninstall" at the top of the screen.
  8. Let the process complete and reboot.

 

Thank you for taking part in our community!

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,705
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 23 (6,721 Views)

Re: can't activate autocad 2014(student version)

08-07-2013 10:02 AM in reply to: 041314855
During what exact step/phase of installation did the error occur?
CDan you post a screenshot of the error message?
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,752
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 3 of 23 (6,719 Views)

Re: can't activate autocad 2014(student version)

08-07-2013 10:03 AM in reply to: 041314855

Welcome to the community. 

 

Many people are experiencing this issue.  You might check this KB about the 2014 activation crash and see if it applies to your issue.

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=21825687&linkID=12305695

 

Good Luck!

 

Member
041314855
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-07-2013
Message 4 of 23 (6,702 Views)

Re: can't activate autocad 2014(student version)

08-07-2013 06:48 PM in reply to: 041314855
It happens while checking the license. A box appears that says " Please wait while your license is being verified." Then another box appears saying that the program has to be stopped due to a probem.
Community Manager
philip.s
Posts: 2,674
Registered: ‎09-27-2011
Message 5 of 23 (6,696 Views)

Re: can't activate autocad 2014(student version)

08-07-2013 07:37 PM in reply to: 041314855

Hello Geena,

 

Some users have had success turning off their antivirus software to get past the checking license freeze / crash. Can you please give that a shot and let us know how it goes?



Philip Schmelzer
Member
041314855
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-07-2013
Message 6 of 23 (6,689 Views)

Re: can't activate autocad 2014(student version)

08-07-2013 08:54 PM in reply to: 041314855
I tried turning off antivirus software, and I still can't get the problem solved. Seems like it is something else...
Member
s080068
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-13-2013
Message 7 of 23 (6,612 Views)

Re: can't activate autocad 2014(student version)

08-15-2013 07:04 AM in reply to: 041314855

Did you find a solution yet?

I'm experiencing the exact same problem only with Revit 2014.

 

Member
s080068
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-13-2013
Message 8 of 23 (6,609 Views)

Re: can't activate autocad 2014(student version)

08-15-2013 07:06 AM in reply to: s080068

However I have had no problems with installing and running Robot 2014

Member
s080068
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-13-2013
Message 9 of 23 (6,582 Views)

Re: can't activate autocad 2014(student version)

08-15-2013 03:20 PM in reply to: s080068

I just installed a 30-day trial version of Revit 2014, however this changed nothing, the program still crashes when launched even though it isn't trying to verify the license no more. So could it be that the problem isn't the license?

Member
margea370
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-24-2013
Message 10 of 23 (6,241 Views)

Re: can't activate autocad 2014(student version)

09-25-2013 01:43 PM in reply to: philip.s

Untitled.jpg

 

Hello! I am facing this problem as well. Downloaded AutoCad 2014 (student version) and cannot put in my license numbers, since it stays like this (as in the picture above) and doesn't change. Is there any other way to work out license? 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.