Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Active Contributor
29 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎02-12-2012
Post 1 of 7
Accepted Solution

Can a single machine have multiple Autodesk servers?

245 Views, 6 Replies
03-31-2014 10:37 PM

Hi, let me explain the scenario.

 

Machine A has Insight and Synergy installed on it. The license for Synergy is configured on Machine A & the license for Insight is configured on Machine B. Now, is it possible for Machine A to pick synergy's license from itself and pick insight's license from Machine B?

 

In simple terms, can two software installed on the same machine have two different license server?

 

Note: I know there is a possibility of merging the licenses and having them on a single server which would eliminate this issue completely, but we cannot do that as each license has been bought in a different company's name.

 

Any help would be appreciated.

Darren nailed it, as usual.  Your best bet would just be to use a system environment variable to point to both servers.  If you are using multiple vendors, you can use:

 

LM_LICENSE_FILE with value of @server1;@server2 

 

Alternately you can use VENDOR_LICENSE_FILE for the vendor daemon.  For example, Autodesk's adskflex vendor daemon would be ADSKFLEX_LICENSE_FILE and you'd point to the appropriate servers. 

 

Good Luck!

*Expert Elite*
7,922 Posts
657 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Post 2 of 7

Re: Can a single machine have multiple Autodesk servers?

04-01-2014 06:24 AM in reply to: prem.savio

that sounds like a distubuted license model

Distributed license server model. Licenses are distributed across more than one server. A unique license file is required for each server. To create a distributed license server, you must run NLM on each server that is part of the distributed server pool.

*Expert Elite*
10,928 Posts
902 Kudos
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Post 3 of 7

Re: Can a single machine have multiple Autodesk servers?

04-01-2014 08:30 AM in reply to: prem.savio

Darren nailed it, as usual.  Your best bet would just be to use a system environment variable to point to both servers.  If you are using multiple vendors, you can use:

 

LM_LICENSE_FILE with value of @server1;@server2 

 

Alternately you can use VENDOR_LICENSE_FILE for the vendor daemon.  For example, Autodesk's adskflex vendor daemon would be ADSKFLEX_LICENSE_FILE and you'd point to the appropriate servers. 

 

Good Luck!

Active Contributor
29 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎02-12-2012
Post 4 of 7

Re: Can a single machine have multiple Autodesk servers?

04-01-2014 09:09 PM in reply to: DarrenP
Thanks for the reply DarrenP

But wouldn't a Distributed license server model have multiple licenses with the SAME serial no. I'm talking about two totally different products with different serial nos, each of whose license has been configured on different machines.
Active Contributor
29 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎02-12-2012
Post 5 of 7

Re: Can a single machine have multiple Autodesk servers?

04-01-2014 09:14 PM in reply to: TravisNave

Thanks for the reply, Travis.

 

The fact that you have mentioned SERVER 1 & SERVER 2 for a single environmental variable tells me that it is possible for a single machine to have multiple Autodesk servers, isn't it?

 

Excuse me for asking the obvious, but i just want your confirmation.

 

Regards

Prem Savio

*Expert Elite*
10,928 Posts
902 Kudos
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Post 6 of 7

Re: Can a single machine have multiple Autodesk servers?

04-02-2014 07:40 AM in reply to: prem.savio

That is correct sir. And they don't have to be the same serial or the same product. 

Active Contributor
29 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎02-12-2012
Post 7 of 7

Re: Can a single machine have multiple Autodesk servers?

04-02-2014 09:19 PM in reply to: TravisNave

Thank you. Now its clear.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!