Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
caddman6425nah
Posts: 113
Registered: ‎06-18-2010
Message 1 of 19 (165 Views)
Accepted Solution

C3D won't start

165 Views, 18 Replies
10-19-2011 07:28 AM
Hi all, I'm running C3D on a 64 bit machine, but the problem is this. It installed just fine, but when I went and started the program, it went through its phases, but...... when the desktop start to open it did as a flash , and the program just bombed and quit. I have no problems with all my other Autodesk programs. Help is surely needed and is wanted at this point, and BTW, TIA Nick
--
Nick
AEC Design Services

caddman,

 

If you're running Windows 7, disable the UAC...

 

Go to the start menu, and type UAC in the search box then hit Enter. Slide the bar all the way to the bottom and reboot your system.

 

If this doesn't resolve the issue, browse to the following location and delete all of the files beginning with "adskflex_":

 

Windows 7 directory:

  • C:\ProgramData\FLEXnet\

Windows XP directory:

  • C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\
Mentor
Darin.Green
Posts: 174
Registered: ‎05-18-2008
Message 2 of 19 (162 Views)

Re: C3D won't start

10-19-2011 07:48 AM in reply to: caddman6425nah

Here's a few things that should be done when running Autodesk applications which could be causing a problem for you:

 

  1. Disable UAC (User Account Control) if using Windows 7. To do this go to Start menu, type UAC in the search box and hit ENTER.
  2. Adjust your virtual memory, so that the Initial size is to the recommended size, and the Maximum size is at lease 1000 higher than the recommended.
  3. If you are not an Admin on the machine, have your IT person give you full permissions to the following registry hives:

    HKEY_LOCALMACHINE
    HKEY_CURRENT_USER
    HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT

Hope this helps.

 

If this resolves your issue, give Kudos or Accept as Solution...

Darin Green
Synergis Technologies

If this resolve your issue/question, give Kudos or Accept as Solution...
Distinguished Contributor
caddman6425nah
Posts: 113
Registered: ‎06-18-2010
Message 3 of 19 (158 Views)

Re: C3D won't start

10-19-2011 07:58 AM in reply to: Darin.Green
And what do I do in those registry items
--
Nick
AEC Design Services
Mentor
Darin.Green
Posts: 174
Registered: ‎05-18-2008
Message 4 of 19 (157 Views)

Re: C3D won't start

10-19-2011 08:02 AM in reply to: caddman6425nah

Try the other one first. If neither of them work for you, have your IT person grant you permissions to those hives.

Darin Green
Synergis Technologies

If this resolve your issue/question, give Kudos or Accept as Solution...
Distinguished Contributor
caddman6425nah
Posts: 113
Registered: ‎06-18-2010
Message 5 of 19 (149 Views)

Re: C3D won't start

10-19-2011 10:56 AM in reply to: Darin.Green
It's only me, I'm the IT person and I have permision to the registry. Now what do you want in the registry for?
--
Nick
AEC Design Services
Distinguished Contributor
caddman6425nah
Posts: 113
Registered: ‎06-18-2010
Message 6 of 19 (145 Views)

Re: C3D won't start

10-19-2011 11:02 AM in reply to: caddman6425nah
And who determine the recomended size, and where do I find it. I'm already at 16 MB now
--
Nick
AEC Design Services
Mentor
Darin.Green
Posts: 174
Registered: ‎05-18-2008
Message 7 of 19 (136 Views)

Re: C3D won't start

10-19-2011 11:48 AM in reply to: caddman6425nah

Nick,

 

Try this first... Go to C:\ProgramData\Autodesk\AdLM\ and delete the CascadeInfo.cas file then try running the application again.

 

Darin Green
Synergis Technologies

If this resolve your issue/question, give Kudos or Accept as Solution...
Distinguished Contributor
caddman6425nah
Posts: 113
Registered: ‎06-18-2010
Message 8 of 19 (133 Views)

Re: C3D won't start

10-19-2011 12:04 PM in reply to: Darin.Green
Didn't work
--
Nick
AEC Design Services
Mentor
Darin.Green
Posts: 174
Registered: ‎05-18-2008
Message 9 of 19 (132 Views)

Re: C3D won't start

10-19-2011 12:11 PM in reply to: caddman6425nah

Check your virtual memory to make sure it's above the recommended size.

For example, If the Recommended size is 4000, change the Initial Size to 4000 and set the Maximum size to 6000.

 

To access the virtual memory location, do the following:

 

Right-click My Computer, choose Properties

If using Windows 7, select the "Advanced system settings" link on the left of the System page

System Properties Dialog will open

Go to the Advanced tab and click Settings under Performance

Performance Options dialog will open

Go to the Advanced tab, and click the Change button located at the bottom of the dialog

Darin Green
Synergis Technologies

If this resolve your issue/question, give Kudos or Accept as Solution...
Distinguished Contributor
caddman6425nah
Posts: 113
Registered: ‎06-18-2010
Message 10 of 19 (127 Views)

Re: C3D won't start

10-19-2011 12:44 PM in reply to: Darin.Green
Darin, If I ask what you want me to do in the registry, I would conclude that I have done all the other things. So I just bumped up the virtual memory again. Nothing! So again I ask, what do I do in the registry and why?
--
Nick
AEC Design Services
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.