Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
New Member
Alphaville
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-04-2013
Message 1 of 5 (667 Views)

Building Design Suite Ultimate - licensing issue

667 Views, 4 Replies
11-04-2013 09:29 AM

I've recently purchased a copy of the Autodesk Building Design Suite Ultimate 2014 (ABDSU 2014) which I first installed on a computer a month or so ago. That PC was definitely past its best so I recently decided to upgrade some of the the hardware (mainboard, processor, memory, hard disc etc). Before doing so I so used the License Transfer Utilty to transfer the Design Suite license from the first PC. The outward bound license transfer seemed to work fine albeit very slowly. 

 

I then installed the ABDSU 2014 on the newly upgraded PC. The installation went fine, although when I invoked the LTU to transfer in the license it took an age to work. Finally I received confirmation that the product license had transferred in successfully,  see attached a copy of the of the license import confirmation report.

 

My main issue is this; when I run any programme forming part of the (ABDSU 2014), whether this be AutoCAD, 3dsMax Design , Revit, whatever, the programme seems to spend a very long time checking the license. For instance, when I last loaded AutoCAD, the license check took approx 20 minutes before the programme fully loaded. How do I resolve this issue? 

Community Manager
philip.s
Posts: 2,673
Registered: ‎09-27-2011
Message 2 of 5 (646 Views)

Re: Building Design Suite Ultimate - licensing issue

11-04-2013 10:52 AM in reply to: Alphaville

Welcome to the community Peter!

 

Can you please delete all Autodesk licensing data from a system by removing the following: 

 

Vista, Windows 7, or Windows 8:
C:\ProgramData\FLEXnet\adskflex_*.data
C:\ProgramData\FLEXnet\adskflex_*.data.backup

 

Windows XP:
C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\FLEXnet\adskflex_*.data
C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\FLEXnet\adskflex_*.data.backup

 

Mac:

/Library/Preferences/FLEXnet Publisher/FLEXnet/adskflex_*.data
/Library/Preferences/FLEXnet Publisher/FLEXnet/adskflex_*.data_backup

 

In the event a reactivation limit error message occurs when activating the software, please contact our License Assistance Team for direct support.

P.S. I deleted your image as it contained sensitive info.

 

Here to help if additional clarification is needed, otherwise please accept as a solution so that others can benefit from this information.



Philip Schmelzer
New Member
Alphaville
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-04-2013
Message 3 of 5 (631 Views)

Re: Building Design Suite Ultimate - licensing issue

11-04-2013 03:49 PM in reply to: philip.s
Hi Philip,



Thanks for your prompt response to my request for assistance with this
issue.



I followed your instructions and deleted the contents of the Flexnet
directory; when I next launched a programme from the Suite (AutoCAD in this
instance) the result was that the programme hung at the checking license
phase and later a blank message window appeared above the AutoCAD
splashscreen with its titlebar saying "Autodesk Licensing (Not Responding).
I have since then received 2 emails from Autodesk with an activation code
for the Building Design Suite product. Should I assume that I have received
two activation codes since I repeated the process of deleting the files in
the Flexnet Directory a second time?



The activation codes might be useful if I knew how to get back to the
activation stage of the install routine which occurs on a first time install
but did not appear when the Building Design Suite was installed on the new
computer build after I had imported the License to the new build. What
procedure do I need to follow in order to get to the request for activation
stage of the installation routine so that I can input the activation code?
Should I first export the license code again and then uninstall the Building
Design Suite completely?



Assuming that this is the correct procedure to follow, of the two activation
codes I have received, which one should I now use to activate the product?



Best Regards,

Peter.
Alumni
Patricia.Cuizon
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎09-12-2013
Message 4 of 5 (628 Views)

Re: Building Design Suite Ultimate - licensing issue

11-04-2013 03:58 PM in reply to: Alphaville

Hi Peter,

 

In checking your serial number on our records, it appears that the software had automatically activated itself online. When you try to launch the software again does it still prompt you to activate? If not, you can check if it's activated successfully by following the steps below:

 

1. Launch program
2. Click on help menu (drop-down list beside the question mark icon)
3. Click on "About"
4. Click on "Product Information"

5. On the "Product Information" window, if the "License Behavior" says "Permanent", this means it's already activated.

 

The emails sent to you with the activation codes were just confirmation that they were activated successfully, and when an activation is done automatically from within the program you no longer need to enter in the activation code.

 

Let me know if this helps.



Patricia Cuizon

Community Manager
philip.s
Posts: 2,673
Registered: ‎09-27-2011
Message 5 of 5 (620 Views)

Re: Building Design Suite Ultimate - licensing issue

11-04-2013 04:27 PM in reply to: Alphaville

Sure thing Peter!

 

Adding on to Patricia's response, can you try turning off your antivirus software which can lead to the software freezing during the license check process. Any luck?

 

An additional suggestion would be to open the program with your Ethernet unplugged and wireless turned off.



Philip Schmelzer
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.