Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Member
PPosner
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-05-2013
Message 1 of 5 (367 Views)

Building Design Suite 2013: Some Programs Failed to Install

367 Views, 4 Replies
02-05-2013 10:47 AM

I too previously installed several programs. Now I'm trying to add others and they won't install. I've followed advice of others to no avail. Modified the setup.ini file to delete the prerequisite request for framework. Removed sp1.1 except for map3d and civil 3d. They would have to be completely uninstalled. Here is the log file for AutoCAD Architecture 2013: (Windows 8, 64-bit)

 

2013/2/5:10:45:29 Poz POZ_WORKSTATION === Setup started on POZ_WORKSTATION by Poz ===
2013/2/5:10:45:29 Poz POZ_WORKSTATION Launch
2013/2/5:10:45:35 Poz POZ_WORKSTATION === Setup ended ===

2013/2/5:10:45:29 Poz POZ_WORKSTATION === Setup started on POZ_WORKSTATION by Poz ===
2013/2/5:10:45:29 Poz POZ_WORKSTATION Launch
2013/2/5:10:45:33 Poz POZ_WORKSTATION Inventorui== Parameter: Prereq_13 SetupMode:1 InstallState:2 InstallAction:0 Message:
2013/2/5:10:45:33 Poz POZ_WORKSTATION Inventorui== Parameter: Prereq_14 SetupMode:1 InstallState:2 InstallAction:7 Message:
2013/2/5:10:45:34 Poz POZ_WORKSTATION PageOpen LaunchDialog
2013/2/5:10:45:37 Poz POZ_WORKSTATION PageOpen LicenseDialog
2013/2/5:10:45:42 Poz POZ_WORKSTATION PageOpen ProductInfoDialog
2013/2/5:10:46:02 Poz POZ_WORKSTATION PageOpen ProductSelectionDialog2
2013/2/5:10:46:21 Poz POZ_WORKSTATION PageOpen FullProgressDialog
2013/2/5:10:46:21 Poz POZ_WORKSTATION Installing DirectX® Runtime: E:\Autodesk Building Design Suite\3rdParty\DirectX\DXSETUP.exe /silent
2013/2/5:10:46:41 Poz POZ_WORKSTATION Install DirectX® Runtime Succeeded
2013/2/5:10:46:41 Poz POZ_WORKSTATION Installing FaroSDK: E:\Autodesk Building Design Suite\3rdParty\FaroSDK\e889_faro_ls_sdk_4.8.2.25521_x86_setup.exe /VERYSILENT
2013/2/5:10:46:46 Poz POZ_WORKSTATION Install FaroSDK Succeeded
2013/2/5:10:46:46 Poz POZ_WORKSTATION Installing AutoCAD® Architecture 2013: TRANSFORMS="E:\Autodesk Building Design Suite\x64\en-us\ACA\ACA.mst;C:\Users\Paul\AppData\Local\Temp\_AI7FE3.tmp\x64\ACA\ACA-standalone.mst" ADSK_EULA_STATUS=#1 MUILANG=en-us ADSK_SOURCE_ROOT="E:\Autodesk Building Design Suite\" INSTALLDIR="C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD 2013\" FILESINUSETEXT="" REBOOT=ReallySuppress ADSK_SETUP_EXE=1

2013/2/5:10:47:38 Poz POZ_WORKSTATION Install AutoCAD® Architecture 2013 Failed Installation aborted, Result=1603
2013/2/5:10:47:38 Poz POZ_WORKSTATION Rollback DirectX® Runtime Failed Failure is ignored, Result=1619

Member
PPosner
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-05-2013
Message 2 of 5 (366 Views)

Re: Building Design Suite 2013: Some Programs Failed to Install

02-05-2013 10:48 AM in reply to: PPosner

Temporary Workaround:

 


If you look at the log file, AutoCad Architecture is trying to load in Autodesk\AutoCad 2013 where AutoCad (plain) was already installed. By renaming the AutoCad 2013 folder to AutoCad 2013 Plain, ACA loaded and works, the problem is you have to rename the folders temporally to either run the plain version or ACA version.

 

Obviously, this isn't how you want things to work. You could uninstall one of the versions then install the one you want.

 

The best solution would be to install each application in a folder of your choosing, however; the installer location is greyed out.

 

At this point, if someone could at least come up with a way to move folders or rename folders so each program can install and function properly seems like the simplest solution for now.

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,437
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 3 of 5 (355 Views)

Re: Building Design Suite 2013: Some Programs Failed to Install

02-05-2013 11:56 AM in reply to: PPosner

The only way I have found for the installations of different suites to properly install in the same AutoCAD 201x folder is to install them sequentially and do not add any service packs during the install or after the install.  Install all the suites first, then update them after.

 

Member
PPosner
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-05-2013
Message 4 of 5 (350 Views)

Re: Building Design Suite 2013: Some Programs Failed to Install

02-05-2013 12:25 PM in reply to: TravisNave

The suites are bundled with various software. But since I can't install different AutoCad flavors into the same directory;because the install package does not provide a choice.

 

Can I download the software (i.e. ACA) and then install that into a specific folder I choose?

 

If so, will my serial number, etc work?

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,437
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 5 of 5 (337 Views)

Re: Building Design Suite 2013: Some Programs Failed to Install

02-05-2013 01:17 PM in reply to: PPosner

I was able to get Mechanical and Architecture to install to the same directory, but only after installing one then the other and not adding any service packs or updates during the installer or between installations. 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.