Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Member
david.durston
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-26-2012
Message 1 of 23 (2,327 Views)
Accepted Solution

Blue screen error when launching Autodesk products

2327 Views, 22 Replies
07-26-2012 01:54 AM

Hello, hoping posting here will help me fix a problem or at least become more aware of the problem.

 

I've been using Max and Maya for a while now (over a year) and suddenly yesterday morning, they both began to give me BSODs when launching.  I hadn't installed or changed anything on my comp between the last time it worked and it not working.

 

After trying to reinstall the programs, I also tried re-seating my graphics card and memory, I've updated to the most recent nvidia beta drivers and also tried rolling back to older ones. After none of that worked, today I decided to format and reinstall windows, also to no avail. I've run a hard drive check and memory diagnostic tool through windows, neither reporting errors. I downloaded and installed SoftImage and Blender to test and see if it was only Autodesk products or a 3D issue. SoftImage also blue-screens, but Blender and 3d apps/games still work fine. Since it's strictly Autodesk products, I'm posting on these forums hoping to find some more information and maybe even a fix.

 

Here is a picture of the exact BSOD error:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v255/JumpDog/IMAG0423.jpg?t=1343283516

 

Thanks for any help or ideas

Autodesk programs are more graphic and memory intensive than other applications.  That's why a faulty video driver will crash Inventor, but Call of Duty will continue to run fine.  :smileyvery-happy:

I replaced my hard drive, did a clean install of 3ds Max, and the program worked again.  I suppose everyone's hard drive decided to kill itself on the same day.  Good luck to anyone having this problem and if anyone finds another solution within 30 days, lemme know so i can go get a refund on this $54 hard drive :smileytongue:

 

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,328
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 2 of 23 (2,321 Views)

Re: Blue screen error when launching Autodesk products

07-26-2012 06:02 AM in reply to: david.durston
*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,280
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 3 of 23 (2,314 Views)

Re: Blue screen error when launching Autodesk products

07-26-2012 07:32 AM in reply to: david.durston

Darren is right, a 0x50 error tells me immediately that your hardware is toast.  Time to get a screwdriver. 

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Member
david.durston
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-26-2012
Message 4 of 23 (2,309 Views)

Re: Blue screen error when launching Autodesk products

07-26-2012 10:50 AM in reply to: david.durston

Well, I'm quite aware of how to Google and had seen those pages already, but thanks for confirming that I guess. Just found it awkward that only Autodesk products seem to be affected by this and otherwise the computer is still behaving normally with all my other DCC tools and games/programs. Still not sure why it's singling out Autodesk and was sort of hoping to understand it a bit more on the technical side (like a faulty address in memory that only Autodesk seems to use or what?).

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,280
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 5 of 23 (2,306 Views)

Re: Blue screen error when launching Autodesk products

07-26-2012 11:01 AM in reply to: david.durston

Autodesk programs are more graphic and memory intensive than other applications.  That's why a faulty video driver will crash Inventor, but Call of Duty will continue to run fine.  :smileyvery-happy:

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
New Member
gonzo13290
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-30-2012
Message 6 of 23 (2,282 Views)

Re: Blue screen error when launching Autodesk products

07-30-2012 12:36 PM in reply to: david.durston

I started having the same problem (with 3ds max and Maya) at the same time.  All of my other programs work, including lightwave 10 (which i would imagine to be just as demanding of the computer as the Autodesk programs).  Everything worked fine before

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,280
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 7 of 23 (2,276 Views)

Re: Blue screen error when launching Autodesk products

07-30-2012 01:35 PM in reply to: gonzo13290

Check your driver version and BSOD stop error code.  And create a new thread if you're having problems.

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Active Member
jyoung
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-30-2011
Message 8 of 23 (2,226 Views)

Re: Blue screen error when launching Autodesk products

08-03-2012 12:16 PM in reply to: david.durston

The draftsman in our office experienced this on a similiar date. He could run adobe CS6 products but autocad LT would crash BSOD on launch every time. We did a clean install and the exact same thing happened wth only autocad lt installed. Dell is telling us it is a software issue and not being helpful in fixing this issue.

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,328
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 9 of 23 (2,224 Views)

Re: Blue screen error when launching Autodesk products

08-03-2012 12:18 PM in reply to: jyoung

did you look up the blue screen error code?

Active Member
jyoung
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-30-2011
Message 10 of 23 (2,223 Views)

Re: Blue screen error when launching Autodesk products

08-03-2012 12:20 PM in reply to: jyoung

0x50

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.