Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
Thomas.Rambach
Posts: 571
Registered: ‎07-22-2004
Message 1 of 18 (1,999 Views)

Autodesk Vault 2012 FlexLM - Failed to acquire a license

1999 Views, 17 Replies
02-18-2012 01:02 PM

So I setup a Vault 2012 Pro Server on Windows Server 2008, obtained the license file from Autodesk and everything looks good on the standpoint of the LMTools status. I disabled IPV6 and followed some of the other tips posted to the forums and Wiki articles. I still can not connect. The client sees the instance of Vault but can not obtain a license.

 

A few questions:

- How does Vault client know where to obtain a license from?

- If the Vault client knows where it gets its license from ADMS, where is this setting? The license file itself?

- What's the best way to debug the issue? I feel like I've tried everything.

 

Client running Windows 7 x64

Server Windows Server 2008 x86

 

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,457
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 2 of 18 (1,981 Views)

Re: Autodesk Vault 2012 FlexLM - Failed to acquire a license

02-19-2012 11:27 AM in reply to: Thomas.Rambach

1. its pinging the adms console for a license

2. see above there are no settings in vault

3. you can try some of these: http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=13107015&linkID=9261340

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,457
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 3 of 18 (1,980 Views)

Re: Autodesk Vault 2012 FlexLM - Failed to acquire a license

02-19-2012 11:28 AM in reply to: DarrenP

whats the error number your getting when logging into vault?

Distinguished Contributor
Thomas.Rambach
Posts: 571
Registered: ‎07-22-2004
Message 4 of 18 (1,977 Views)

Re: Autodesk Vault 2012 FlexLM - Failed to acquire a license

02-19-2012 07:23 PM in reply to: Thomas.Rambach

I tried the IPv6 tricks already. This is from the server log at the time of login failure.

 

2/19/2012 10:07:49 PM *******************************************************************
Error: Soap Exception ( mesg-id = 634652860694062500 )
Exception: LicensingError [319] (20)
Stacktrace: 
Server stack trace: 
   at Connectivity.Core.Security.Licensing.a(User A_0, bi A_1)
   at Connectivity.Core.Services.SecurityService.a(User A_0, String A_1, Boolean A_2, bi A_3, Byte[] A_4)
   at Connectivity.Core.Services.SecurityService.SignIn(String userName, String userPassword, String knowledgeVaultName, Boolean readOnly)
   at System.Runtime.Remoting.Messaging.Message.Dispatch(Object target, Boolean fExecuteInContext)
   at System.Runtime.Remoting.Messaging.StackBuilderSink.SyncProcessMessage(IMessage msg, Int32 methodPtr, Boolean fExecuteInContext)

Exception rethrown at [0]: 
   at System.Runtime.Remoting.Proxies.RealProxy.HandleReturnMessage(IMessage reqMsg, IMessage retMsg)
   at System.Runtime.Remoting.Proxies.RealProxy.PrivateInvoke(MessageData& msgData, Int32 type)
   at Connectivity.Core.Services.SecurityService.SignIn(String userName, String userPassword, String knowledgeVaultName, Boolean readOnly)
   at Connectivity.Web.Services.SecurityService.SignIn(String userName, String userPassword, String knowledgeVault)
*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,439
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 5 of 18 (1,956 Views)

Re: Autodesk Vault 2012 FlexLM - Failed to acquire a license

02-20-2012 08:21 AM in reply to: Thomas.Rambach

The problem is almost always IPv6 or Firewall related. 

 

For more information about Network License Manager connectivity issues and IPv6, please see my discussion post here:

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Installation-Licensing/Network-License-Error-1-5-15-and-IPv6/td-p/2982...

Distinguished Contributor
Thomas.Rambach
Posts: 571
Registered: ‎07-22-2004
Message 6 of 18 (1,951 Views)

Re: Autodesk Vault 2012 FlexLM - Failed to acquire a license

02-20-2012 11:07 AM in reply to: Thomas.Rambach

I turned off the firewall and disabled IPv6. What's the best way to troubleshoot from this point?

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,439
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 7 of 18 (1,948 Views)

Re: Autodesk Vault 2012 FlexLM - Failed to acquire a license

02-20-2012 11:14 AM in reply to: Thomas.Rambach

When you PING the server, what response do you get?  Also, have you considered using the system environment variables on the ADMS Server.  You will need to check the PING and connectivity from there as well.

 

 

Distinguished Contributor
Thomas.Rambach
Posts: 571
Registered: ‎07-22-2004
Message 8 of 18 (1,944 Views)

Re: Autodesk Vault 2012 FlexLM - Failed to acquire a license

02-20-2012 11:36 AM in reply to: Thomas.Rambach

PING is responding with normal looking IP and Vault client can find the database ok, just can't get the license to work even though FlexLM says everything is ok and licenses are available.

Where can I get info on the environment variables and what they need to be?

 

 

..thanks for the help.

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,457
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 9 of 18 (1,942 Views)

Re: Autodesk Vault 2012 FlexLM - Failed to acquire a license

02-20-2012 11:37 AM in reply to: Thomas.Rambach
*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,457
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 10 of 18 (1,941 Views)

Re: Autodesk Vault 2012 FlexLM - Failed to acquire a license

02-20-2012 11:38 AM in reply to: DarrenP

you need to apply this on the computer where the adms console is

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.