Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Active Contributor
jlobo2
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎06-18-2013
Message 61 of 70 (460 Views)

Re: Autodesk Network License Manager 2014

07-03-2013 06:44 AM in reply to: jlobo2

The Error code is [-5.412.0]

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,500
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 62 of 70 (458 Views)

Re: Autodesk Network License Manager 2014

07-03-2013 06:45 AM in reply to: jlobo2

run a status inquiry on the license manger from the server status tab

do you see civil 3d on there?

Active Contributor
jlobo2
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎06-18-2013
Message 63 of 70 (456 Views)

Re: Autodesk Network License Manager 2014

07-03-2013 06:48 AM in reply to: DarrenP

I see Civil 3D of 2011 but not 2012.

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,500
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 64 of 70 (454 Views)

Re: Autodesk Network License Manager 2014

07-03-2013 06:49 AM in reply to: jlobo2

it looks like you didn't update the license file for civil 3d

Active Contributor
jlobo2
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎06-18-2013
Message 65 of 70 (441 Views)

Re: Autodesk Network License Manager 2014

07-03-2013 07:32 AM in reply to: DarrenP

It did work now. Thanks a lot Darren for all your help. Appreciate it.

New Member
darrenasmith
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-05-2011
Message 66 of 70 (353 Views)

Re: Autodesk Network License Manager 2014

09-17-2013 10:48 AM in reply to: TravisNave

Would someone be able to definitively answer this question - there seems to be some ambiguity on the matter:

 

Is NLM 11.11 _required_ to support 2014 products?  11.10 seems to work fine, but I can't tell if the minor issues we are having are just the NLM being its misbehaving self or not.

 

I'd also like a clarification on this matter with regards to 11.11:

 

"It does not support network license checkouts in an IPv4-only environment."

 

This is the reason we have not upgraded to 11.11.  We are currently still IPv4-only.  Can this "issue" be circumvented by enabling IPv6 on the server even though our LAN doesn't currently support IPv6 routing?  I have assumed no because that solution seems too easy. :smileyhappy:

 

Thanks.

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,499
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 67 of 70 (349 Views)

Re: Autodesk Network License Manager 2014

09-17-2013 11:00 AM in reply to: darrenasmith

darrenasmith wrote:

Would someone be able to definitively answer this question - there seems to be some ambiguity on the matter:

 


Is NLM 11.11 _required_ to support 2014 products?

 

No.  Depending on the server setup, I sometimes even recommend 11.7.  That being said, you can update the master daemon and utility files to 11.11 if you wish, and run an older adskflex.exe.  I have not experienced any issues for 2014 in this scenario.  And I do this daily.

 

"It does not support network license checkouts in an IPv4-only environment."

 

Ridiculous statement.  I'd love to know where you got this, because I am running 11.11.1.1 on my IPv4 setup and it works fine.  I have never had a problem with any version of the NLM and IPv4.  In fact, it's typically the other way around.  IPv6 seems to rarely ever work with even the so-called IPv6 version of the NLM.

 

Hope that helps.

 

That being said, post your NLM "issues" in a new thread and we'll deal with them there.  :smileywink:

New Member
darrenasmith
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-05-2011
Message 68 of 70 (340 Views)

Re: Autodesk Network License Manager 2014

09-17-2013 11:44 AM in reply to: TravisNave

Heh.  Thanks very much.

 

Curious - which combination of versions have you found to be the most problem free and stable?

 

Here's where I found the statement about checkout support:

 

http://images.autodesk.com/adsk/files/nlm11.11_ipv4_win64_readme.htm

 

and

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=18610121&linkID=12305695

 

Straight from the horses mouth.  Wonder why?

 

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,499
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 69 of 70 (338 Views)

Re: Autodesk Network License Manager 2014

09-17-2013 11:53 AM in reply to: TravisNave

TravisNave wrote:
I am running 11.11.1.1 on my IPv4 setup and it works fine. 


I just upgraded to 11.12 and it also works.  The status bar messages and the debug log are a bit different that before, but everything is still as expected. 

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,499
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 70 of 70 (336 Views)

Re: Autodesk Network License Manager 2014

09-17-2013 12:00 PM in reply to: darrenasmith

darrenasmith wrote:

 

Curious - which combination of versions have you found to be the most problem free and stable?

 

 


Personally, I have found that adskflex.exe 11.7 works best on just about every setup.  I have found many instances starting with 11.9 and up that simply did not work at all on Server 2008, 2003 R2, 2012, and Windows 8.  But simply going back down to the 11.7 vendor magically resolves the problems.

 

As for the Autodesk readme links you provided, they are wrong.  Plain and simple.  Autodesk does not author the NLM software, so whomever wrote that disclaimer, unfortunately had a severe misunderstanding of how it works.  I have posted comments about that in the section provided, but alas, the misinformation remains.  If the software didn't work in an IPv4-only environment, then my software would not be working at this instant.  Perhaps I will make an effort to reach out again.

 

Subsequently, they recently posted a new KB article based on my IPv6 work-around that essentially disregards everything in their disclaimer above.  I am hoping it will be corrected before the next release of the license manager for 2015. 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.