Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Active Contributor
ZSHS2011
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎08-29-2012
Message 11 of 19 (986 Views)

Re: Autodesk Network License Manager 2013

09-13-2012 10:26 AM in reply to: TravisNave

Yea, this is what im getting:

 

Vendor daemon status (on SERVER):

 

  adskflex: Cannot connect to license server system.

 The license server manager (lmgrd) has not been started yet,

 the wrong port@host or license file is being used, or the

 port or hostname in the license file has been changed.

Server name XXXX:  

License path:  XXX;

FLEXnet Licensing error:-15,10.  System Error: 10049 "WinSock: Invalid address"

For further information, refer to the FLEXnet Licensing documentation,

available at "www.flexerasoftware.com".

 

 

But if it doesn’t work, I guess it doesn’t work..  Where can I find 11.7?  The version we have is 11.9.x.x adskflex which I believe you said in another post causes problems.   

 

Active Contributor
ZSHS2011
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎08-29-2012
Message 12 of 19 (983 Views)

Re: Autodesk Network License Manager 2013

09-13-2012 10:46 AM in reply to: ZSHS2011

Actually, I found another post of yours containing the 64-bit 11.7 file.

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Installation-Licensing/FLEXnet-Licensing-error-15-quot-WinSock-Operati...

 

But we are using 2013 AutoCAD.  Will this cause a problem since we are supposed to be using 11.10? 

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,752
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 13 of 19 (979 Views)

Re: Autodesk Network License Manager 2013

09-13-2012 12:39 PM in reply to: TravisNave
Active Contributor
ZSHS2011
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎08-29-2012
Message 14 of 19 (971 Views)

Re: Autodesk Network License Manager 2013

09-13-2012 03:15 PM in reply to: TravisNave

11.7 adskflex is working with 11.11 LMtools and AutoCAD 2013.  So far no issues.

 

Thank you.   

Contributor
jpilapil
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎10-04-2007
Message 15 of 19 (897 Views)

Re: Autodesk Network License Manager 2013

10-18-2012 10:48 AM in reply to: TravisNave

Hi,

I work in one of the engineering frim that currently we have 17 offices accross the US. Right now, each office has a standalone server that hosted our network autocad licenses but we are planning to setup a single centralize Autocad license manager that will host the license- In order to simplify the manegment and also to update the license. Are there ways to have a single server top host the autocad license accross the 17 offices and also have the flexibility to be able to have a disaster recovery if in case the internet connection of the host office is not avilable and users will be able to continue working? I hosted several engineering licenses in our main office and I know that I have to put some type of environmental variables and setting in order for the users to be able to maintain the connection. Are there any settings as well that I have to do in the autocad application users computer in order for it to be able to maintain the connection and it won't timeout? What should I do?

 

Regards,

Jason

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,752
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 16 of 19 (893 Views)

Re: Autodesk Network License Manager 2013

10-18-2012 11:21 AM in reply to: jpilapil

Yes this can be done.  We host a single NLM for the WAN consisting of over 20 offices nationwide.  You can set ADSKFLEX_LICENSE_FILE and FLEXLM_TIMEOUT variables to facilitate the redirection and connectivity latency to the new server.  Disaster recovery is easier on a single license server because you do not have to recreate multiple licenses for distributed or redundant servers.  If you do need to do this, you can be back up and running within minutes on another NLM server with environment variables pointing to the new location.  I think you'll find it a lot easier to manage and maintain your licenses on a single license server.

Contributor
jpilapil
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎10-04-2007
Message 17 of 19 (886 Views)

Re: Autodesk Network License Manager 2013

10-18-2012 11:54 AM in reply to: TravisNave

Thank you for the prompt reply. In this case that we already established our deployment package in each office and already installed in computer in that office. If in case we will generate one license for our single license server, what will happen to the comuters that have autocad that already have autodesk installed in their machine with the installation package that was made with thge local license server that currently being used? Do I have to recreate the package and point the installation to the new single autocad license server? I know that you mentioned the variables, do I just need to put that in each autocad computers and then turn off the local license server then switch to the new license server? What are the other settings that I should do in our individual computers in order to look or be switch to the single license server?

 

Thank you and I hope that I explain it properly.

 

Thanks,

 

Jason

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,752
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 18 of 19 (882 Views)

Re: Autodesk Network License Manager 2013

10-18-2012 12:04 PM in reply to: jpilapil

Yep, it's really as simple as setting the environment variable.  With this set on each workstation, it will override any setting locally or created by the deployment and look to the new license manager location.  You can go back and modify the deployment if you wish, but so long as you have the environment variable in place, you will be just fine.

 

Here's more info on it:

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=8385605&linkID=9240617

*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,648
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 19 of 19 (874 Views)

Re: Autodesk Network License Manager 2013

10-18-2012 02:46 PM in reply to: TravisNave

FWIW - we set the environment variable in the network logon script. If we have to change a group of people, we change the script and have them reboot. Totally independent of anything CAD related.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.