Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Member
RKeown
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-22-2010
Message 1 of 17 (6,401 Views)

Autodesk Maya 2011 and "Maya application has stopped working" issue

6401 Views, 16 Replies
10-26-2010 02:50 PM

After a a few days of working with Pay Per Incident support at Autodesk, we finally were able to come up with a solution to the following issue:

 

I'm running Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit, AMD Phenom II Quad Core (4x3.0GHz), 8GB RAM DDR3, Radeon HD 4570 w/512MB RAM, McAfee Internet Security Suite 2010. I am able to download and install Autodesk 2011 Maya 64-bit, but when it starts up, an output window pops up with ''import site' failed; use -v for traceback' and the splash screen says 'Maya loading'. After 2-3 minutes, windows pops up an error message, staing that the 'Maya application has stopped working'. the error message in the Application Evnt Log says that 'Faulting application name: maya.exe, version: 2010.3.19.311, time stamp: 0x4ba343c5 Faulting module name: ntdll.dll, version: 6.1.7600.16559, time stamp: 0x4ba9b802 Exception code: 0xc0000005 Fault offset: 0x0000000000056716 Faulting process id: 0x2250 Faulting application start time: 0x01cb6c07ad1f5f6a Faulting application path: C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Maya2011\bin\maya.exe Faulting module path: C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\ntdll.dll Report Id: 4114cb72-d7fb-11df-b924-78e7d1c8eab9'. I had McaFee disabled during the install , both firewal and antivirus. I can't get either the 32-bit or 64 bit versions to run. All other applications (3DS Max, Motionbuilder and Mudbox) run fine without any issue. Is this a known issue?

 

This was originally posted on the students.autodesk.com site, and was eventually escalated up to SafetyNet. The issue came down to a Python Environment Variable called 'PYTHONPATH' (without the single-quotes), that looks to have been from another application/installation not related to Autodesk.  If you are getting the "Maya application has stopped working", and in the event log is the issue reported above, perform the following steps to see if you are being affected by this issue.

 

1) Right-click on My Computer, and go into Properties. 

2) Click on the Advanced System Settings link.  Go into the Environment Variables section, and scroll down to see if an Environemtn Variable is setup for either PYTHONHOME or PYTHONPATH.  Click on the Edit button.  Copy and paste the settings into notepad, as well as the Variable Name itself, in case you need to restore this. 

3) Once you've successfully saved the file, make sure you have this environment variable selected, and press the Delete button. 

4) Close the Advance System Settings Window, and then restart Maya 2011.

 

There is one other known issue to cause the "Maya application has stopped working", and there is a simple fix for this, as well.  You need to obtain an updated version of the DBGHELP.DLL from Microsoft, usually included in the Debugging Tools for Windows.  Make sure you download a proper version for your system.  64-bit for 64-bit systems, and the 32bit for 32-bit systems.  Once you've obtained this, and installed it, simplly copy the dorrect version of DBGHELP.DLL to your Maya 2011 bin folder under Program Files\Autodes\Maya2011

 

To determine which one of these two issues you may be experiencing, you'll need to open up the Application Event Log, underr the application error, and see if it references either NTDLL.DLL, or DBGHELP.DLL.

 

 

Product Support
david.lau
Posts: 1,511
Registered: ‎06-18-2008
Message 2 of 17 (6,390 Views)

Re: Autodesk Maya 2011 and "Maya application has stopped working" issu

10-26-2010 03:17 PM in reply to: RKeown

Thanks for posting this and sharing with the community.



David Lau
New Member
mjh77
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-04-2010
Message 3 of 17 (6,176 Views)

Re: Autodesk Maya 2011 and "Maya application has stopped working" issu

12-04-2010 11:55 AM in reply to: RKeown

This solved it for me. I had to do both fixes...  Thanks

New Member
Witchunter
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-28-2010
Message 4 of 17 (6,023 Views)

Re: Autodesk Maya 2011 and "Maya application has stopped working" issu

12-28-2010 11:58 AM in reply to: RKeown

Just wanted to thank you for sharing this information! I had the problem regarding environmental variable, which was set by CollabNet Edge to it's own folder. I'm not sure if Edge will work now, but it doesn't matter - I have some priorities! :smileyhappy:

 

Thank you once again, RKeown!

Member
RKeown
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-22-2010
Message 5 of 17 (6,014 Views)

Re: Autodesk Maya 2011 and "Maya application has stopped working" issu

12-28-2010 03:27 PM in reply to: Witchunter

You guys are very welcome, as this was getting really frustrating for me, as well. But I can't take the credit, as it was the do dilligence of David Lau from Autodesk that really found the issue, and resolution.

Member
dculyba
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-17-2011
Message 6 of 17 (5,833 Views)

Re: Autodesk Maya 2011 and "Maya application has stopped working" issu

01-17-2011 11:10 AM in reply to: RKeown

I've been running into what appears to be exactly this problem. I'm trying to install Maya 2011 and run into the "Maya application file has stopped working" message when the application is starting. I checked the event log and it says the crash is happening with DBGHELP.DLL, version: 6.8.4.0.

I've tried everything suggested and nothing seems to work:

 

  • I've replaced the DBGHELP.DLL with different versions (6.11.1.404, 6.9.3.113, 6.6.7.5, and 6.1.7600.16385)
  • I've confirmed that there are no python system variables nor any python installs
  • I've made sure there are no erroneous MAYA_ENVIRONMENT system variables
  • I've uninstall Microsoft Office 2007 (a solution that was suggested somewhere else)
  • I upgraded to Windows 7 (was originally Vista)
  • I've tried using both the Service Pack 1 installer and the Hotfix 3 installer
  • I've uninstalled, restarted and reinstalled Maya dozens of times.
  • I've confirmed that the license file is valid (I've tried both running it as a trial and pointing it at our license server--same results on both).
  • I've upgraded my video drivers
I'm at my wit's end here on trying to get Maya to run. The only relevant variable that I can think of that might be related is that this machine was previously running Maya 2009 (which I uninstalled before installe 2011). Beyond that I've run out of ideas. Does anyone have any suggestions on how to pursue finding a solution?

My system:

32-bit Windows 7

Core2 Duo Processor E7300 @ 2.66GHz

4 gigs of ram

NVIDIA Quadro FX 570

 

-Dave

Product Support
david.lau
Posts: 1,511
Registered: ‎06-18-2008
Message 7 of 17 (5,818 Views)

Re: Autodesk Maya 2011 and "Maya application has stopped working" issu

01-17-2011 01:52 PM in reply to: dculyba

I would check that the video card and driver are certified.  You can check it out here:

 

www.autodesk.com/qual-charts

 

 

 

 



David Lau
Member
RKeown
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-22-2010
Message 8 of 17 (5,804 Views)

Re: Autodesk Maya 2011 and "Maya application has stopped working" issu

01-17-2011 09:03 PM in reply to: dculyba

Watch the maya loading screen, in the background as the error message pops up.  Look at what the very last line says for Loading/Initializing, and post that back to the forum.  One thing to try is to update your Video Card Driver to v258.96 from NVidia, as this is the driver listed as being tested/certified for for most of their cards.  One thing to note as well, the Quadro FX 580 falls below the minimum system requirements for both XP and Vista versions of teh App, but is being tested still on Windows 7

 

Chances are that if the FX 580 doesn't meet the minimum requirements, the FX 570 most likely won't either.  It sounds like you're going to need a new graphics card

 

Her's a link to the Maya 2011 Hardware Compatibility sheet in PDF form.

 

http://download.autodesk.com/us/qualcharts/2011/maya2011_qualifiedgraphics_win.pdf

 

According to this sheet, it looks like the next step up for you, would be a Quadro FX 1700, as its listed as compatible, but not officially certified. 

 

Rob

Member
dculyba
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-17-2011
Message 9 of 17 (5,778 Views)

Re: Autodesk Maya 2011 and "Maya application has stopped working" issu

01-18-2011 11:50 AM in reply to: RKeown

The hardware compatibility was an excellent suggestion, but after a few hours of hardware swapping, it looks like that isn't the problem. 

I've now tried a GeForce 9800 GTX and a Radeon HD 3800 (updated drivers and a clean install of maya after installing the card) and I'm still getting the error. The Radeon came from a machine that was able to run Maya 2011 just fine, so I resonably confident that that card would have solved my problem if it was a hardware compatibility problem.

I think my last ditch effort is going to be wiping this computer and starting from a completely clean slate. It feels a little drastic, but hopefully it will work.

Thanks for the help!

 

Member
dculyba
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-17-2011
Message 10 of 17 (5,753 Views)

Re: Autodesk Maya 2011 and "Maya application has stopped working" issu

01-19-2011 03:35 PM in reply to: RKeown

Just to update: Doing a clean install of Windows (instead of the program and settings preserving upgrade) solved my problem. I'm not sure what that means my real problem was, but Maya seems to be happy now.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.