Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,439
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 21 of 31 (1,238 Views)

Re: Autodesk Installation Problems

01-30-2012 07:45 AM in reply to: hshdavidson

hshdavidson,

 

Sorry for the delay on this over the weekend.  Attached is a modified setup.ini file (just remove the .txt) that has the prerequisite checks for your Revit on the Visual C++ removed.  I have had success doing this before, so it may very well work for you, or you might end up with a different problem altogether.  It is at least worth a shot.  Definitely make sure you have the actual prerequisites installed, obviously, so that the product will work as expected.  Let me know if you still have problems.  And thank you for being polite and professional.  :smileywink:

 

Good Luck!

 

Note:  I went into the file and removed all instances of VCREDIST on a search, including references to the 3rd party installers at the bottom. 

Active Member
hshdavidson
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-27-2012
Message 22 of 31 (1,198 Views)

Re: Autodesk Installation Problems

02-02-2012 11:47 AM in reply to: TravisNave

Boy, is this really getting to be a pain in the butt. 

 

I am having trouble downloading the attachment you sent.  On the discussion-group page the attachment is actually a link.  When I click on it I get a new page filled with text which I presume I am supposed to copy and paste into a .txt file.  But on the webpage  there are these � characters that appear between each letter in the text. I paste into Notepad and I get a little box character there.

 

What is going on?  How do I correct this?

 

Thanks,

 

scott

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,439
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 23 of 31 (1,200 Views)

Re: Autodesk Installation Problems

02-02-2012 11:55 AM in reply to: hshdavidson

Right-click the link of the file and Save target as...  That should save it as the file.  Then just remove the .txt extension leaving just setup.ini.  Replace the one you have with this one and start the installer.  Good Luck!

Active Member
hshdavidson
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-27-2012
Message 24 of 31 (1,178 Views)

Re: Autodesk Installation Problems

02-03-2012 08:57 AM in reply to: TravisNave

I tried the right-click but no "save target" option there, only "Save Link as...". But I was able to edit teh characters out with Wordpad, replaced the original -.ini isth it and ran it.  Failed like so:

 

midway through installation, and at various times in teh process:

 

.netframework2.0(x64):  "Error: .netframe versionincompatible with previous installed one"

setup.exe: " netframe encountered problems..." Failed

seupverifier.exe - DLL Initialization failed"         

Revit 2012:  1309 Error.  file c:.../../AutoDesk Design review 2012.name.png.  make sure you have this file."  Ignore

    Again: 1309 Error.  .../DesignRev-install.png.  Ignore

Netframe 3.5 SP1 Setup:  I chose "repair"  : "restoring to original state"

Revit 2012:  1309 Error.  file c:.../../ArchVis_Stills_...Spirea.rpc.png.  make sure you have this file."   Ignore

 

Then Revit continues setup until the Installer crashes. 

 

Why is this happening to me?  Its really getting frustrating, not to mention time-consuming.

 

Thanks for your help.

 

Scott

 

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,439
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 25 of 31 (1,174 Views)

Re: Autodesk Installation Problems

02-03-2012 11:12 AM in reply to: bone3
Are you using Internet Explorer? Make it your default browser. If you have .NET Framework issues, I provide a cleanup tool for that too in my signature. Hang in there...
Member
wlaubner
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-28-2012
Message 26 of 31 (1,156 Views)

Re: Autodesk Installation Problems

02-04-2012 07:15 AM in reply to: bone3
After 8 attempts and taking acad to a computer repair ship; he finally had to reformat mat my disk to get it to load. It only cost me a mere $175 to get it done........where do I send the bill to..?
*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,439
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 27 of 31 (1,150 Views)

Re: Autodesk Installation Problems

02-04-2012 09:51 AM in reply to: bone3
Formatting and reinstalling can be done for free. The fact of the matter is that the installation problems are due to prerequisite files, not the Autodesk software. In my opinion, you overpaid for service that wasn't necessary.
Member
wlaubner
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-28-2012
Message 28 of 31 (1,147 Views)

Re: Autodesk Installation Problems

02-04-2012 12:14 PM in reply to: bone3
It's because auto desk was untimely or completely lacking in a fix. Rather they said contact a local retailer. That's not a fix and this guy spent a lot of time attempting installation over and over again. The lack of support SUCKS.
*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,439
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 29 of 31 (1,145 Views)

Re: Autodesk Installation Problems

02-04-2012 01:11 PM in reply to: bone3
Support is handled primarily thru the reseller partner channel. If you want better support, buy from a value-added reseller and not by clicking buy now on a website like CDW. This is a peer-based forum. We choose to help out the community for the greater good. Glad you are up and running.
Active Member
hshdavidson
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-27-2012
Message 30 of 31 (1,116 Views)

Re: Autodesk Installation Problems

02-07-2012 02:28 PM in reply to: TravisNave

Finally got back to trying to install Revit on my WinXP64 machine.  I used IE to downloaded the setup.txt file you attached,  placed it, as a .ini file, in the installer folder and let her rip.  Same stuff.  Several  missing .png file messages came up during the installatoin but it kept on installing.  Could my download of Revit be corrupted?  red Xs next to all three apps. 

 

 I'm attaching the Installation Log file.

 

thanks for your help.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.