Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Contributor
jdeschulthess
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎03-17-2008
Message 1 of 6 (802 Views)
Accepted Solution

Autodesk 2011 network license issue

802 Views, 5 Replies
07-07-2011 07:48 AM

I have setup a 2011 64 network deployment that works fine with our shared network licenses.  When I try to do a 32 bit deployment the installation seems to go fine but when trying to run AutoCAD on the workstation it acts as a standalone installation and asks  you to activate.  It then insists that the serial number is not valid.  I also tried to do a deployment for 2010 and encountered the same error for that network serial number also.  It gives the error as "Error 123".

Seems as though your network deployment is created as a stand-alone install rather than a network install.  You may need to modify or remake your deployment image. 

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,588
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 2 of 6 (798 Views)

Re: Autodesk 2011 network license issue

07-07-2011 09:37 AM in reply to: jdeschulthess

Seems as though your network deployment is created as a stand-alone install rather than a network install.  You may need to modify or remake your deployment image. 

Contributor
jdeschulthess
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎03-17-2008
Message 3 of 6 (795 Views)

Re: Autodesk 2011 network license issue

07-07-2011 09:53 AM in reply to: TravisNave

Ok.  That was it.  I had to click on configure when I got to the create deployments page where standalone was the default option.  I don't recall doing that with the 64 bit install ...

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,588
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 4 of 6 (791 Views)

Re: Autodesk 2011 network license issue

07-07-2011 10:38 AM in reply to: jdeschulthess

Glad you got it up and running.  The 2012 products ask you instead of making you search for it, which is a huge plus. 

 

Help Improve the Autodesk Discussion Groups
--------------------------------------------------------
If I was able to resolve your issue, please select the "Accept as Solution" option so that you can help fellow members quickly find solutions to their problems. Please add Kudos to a post if you were helped by a post that you did not author.

Contributor
jdeschulthess
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎03-17-2008
Message 5 of 6 (784 Views)

Re: Autodesk 2011 network license issue

07-07-2011 10:42 AM in reply to: TravisNave

OK, thanks. 

 

Now I'm wondering if I used the standalone serial number in the 64 bit deployment I used and that is why it is working fine.  Guess I better check that!

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,588
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 6 of 6 (779 Views)

Re: Autodesk 2011 network license issue

07-07-2011 11:06 AM in reply to: jdeschulthess

So long as it is a valid serial number and it is configured as a network install, it really shouldn't matter.  It will grab the license from the NLM.  :smileywink:

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!