Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Active Member
raymond1224
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-15-2012
Message 1 of 10 (324 Views)

Autocad network licensing

324 Views, 9 Replies
02-25-2013 10:29 PM

Dear Autocad Expertise,

 

My company is using the Autocad 2009 network version and have pruchased the annual subscription every year.

Most of our users are using Autocad 2008

 

Now I would have purchased additional 7 set of Autocad 2013 network and request the reseller to upgrade the server to 2013 and remain supporting the Autocad 2008. i.e. the server should support 2008, 2010 - 2013. Is it possible?

 

If not, how can I increase the no of license and try to use the new version.

 

Hope any Autodesk experise help or redirect me to corresponding webpage.

 

Thanks,

 

Raymond Cheung

Product Support
emily.xu
Posts: 463
Registered: ‎03-29-2010
Message 2 of 10 (318 Views)

Re: Autocad network licensing

02-25-2013 11:06 PM in reply to: raymond1224

For AutoCAD 2009 license with sub, you can use 2006-2009 versions.

For AutoCAD 2013 license with sub, you can use 2010-2013 versions.

The network license manager is previous version compatible, the latest version can serve the old version product license, so you can manage your license file (both 2009 and 2013) on the same server by using 2013 license manager.

Here is how to combine the license file.

 


______________________________________________________________

If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly!

 




Emily Xu
Active Member
raymond1224
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-15-2012
Message 3 of 10 (300 Views)

Re: Autocad network licensing

02-26-2013 02:33 AM in reply to: raymond1224
Dear Emily,

Thanks for your reply.

Firstly, I should correct that we are using 2010 now and not 2009.

Regarding to your solutions, there will be 2 license pools and will not be allocated license efficiency and effective.

We would like to make both the old license and new purchased 2013 as a single pools. Is it possible?

Any suggestion?

Thanks,

Raymond
*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,230
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 4 of 10 (291 Views)

Re: Autocad network licensing

02-26-2013 05:32 AM in reply to: raymond1224
Active Member
raymond1224
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-15-2012
Message 5 of 10 (257 Views)

Re: Autocad network licensing

02-26-2013 05:16 PM in reply to: DarrenP

Dear all Autocad expertise,

 

Sorry for missing presenting my issue.

 

My problem is that under my current situation -

 

using 2010 network version with 10 licenses and annual subscription.  90% of users are using 2008 and 10% using 2010. 2008 users do not willing to upgrade to 2010 because of in familiar with 2010. 

 

Now I want to purchase additional 10 licenses, so that there will be 20 license in pools to share with all 2008 and 2010 users.

 

However, under current Autodesk policy (told by resller),  the newly purchased Autocad 2013 can inly support down to 2010 .

 

If it is true, even though I have purchased additional 10 licenses, but in my license pool, there will 20 licenses for 2010 and only 10 licenses for 2008.  i.e. even though we pay the money for additional, in fact the license for 2008 is still unchanged and not enough for allocation.

 

Hence I would like to seek your advice that under my situation, besides forcing users to upgrade to 2010, is there any alternative solutions?

 

Thank you in advance.

 

Raymond Cheung

 

 

 

 

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,230
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 6 of 10 (222 Views)

Re: Autocad network licensing

02-27-2013 06:06 AM in reply to: raymond1224

are these 2008 licenses tied to a current subscription contract?

if so you would have to apply for an exception and fill outl paper work which your reseller should have

Active Member
raymond1224
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-15-2012
Message 7 of 10 (220 Views)

Re: Autocad network licensing

02-27-2013 06:10 AM in reply to: raymond1224
10 sets 2010 is tied with current subscription.
*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,230
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 8 of 10 (215 Views)

Re: Autocad network licensing

02-27-2013 06:18 AM in reply to: raymond1224

what your reseller told you is correct

you will have to fill out an exemption form to get 2009 licenses or older when the 2014 products come out it will be 2010 and lower

the licenses will time out and not be permanent per the license agreement

*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,226
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 9 of 10 (195 Views)

Re: Autocad network licensing

02-27-2013 08:59 AM in reply to: raymond1224

As ugly as it sounds, sometimes you have to force the update issue with the users.  The longer they stay on an older release the harder it will be for them (and you) to move forward when you have to - more new features, more new work processes.  There could also come a point where either the old version isn't supported on a new operating system mandated by IT, or a new third-party application is required which won't run on the old version; either of which will put you on the spot for a short, rushed upgrade cycle.

 

Rather than staying static, work out a rough upgrade schedule so the users and management aren't caught off-guard.  It will give you time to consider issues (like license upgrades, training, etc.) well ahead of when it gets to the point of being forced.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,230
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 10 of 10 (193 Views)

Re: Autocad network licensing

02-27-2013 09:01 AM in reply to: dgorsman

or you can do that

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.