Installation & Licensing
Welcome to Autodesk’s Installation and Licensing Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Download, Installation, and Licensing topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

AutoCAD Mechanical 2012 installs but 2013 won't.

11 REPLIES 11
Message 1 of 12
pmiles2
1896 Views, 11 Replies

AutoCAD Mechanical 2012 installs but 2013 won't.

Okay, I am a student and need to run the same version of the software that we are using at school.  I have downloaded and successfully installed AutoCAD 2012, AutoCAD 2013, and AutoCAD Mechanical 2012.

I keep getting a 1603 error during the installation process (phase 2 of 4).

I've tried running the installer as Admin, with and without AntiVirus software enabled, cleared the TEMP folder, rebooted, uninstalling AutoCAD Mechanical 2012.  Still always fails with the exact same log entry.  See attached.

I have no idea why I can install just about every other software under the blue moon without issue, but AutoCAD Mechanical 2013 fails.  What is in the installer that is NOT in any of the other Autodesk products?

I have 3DS MAX 9, AutoCAD 2013, SolidWorks 2012-13 all on my system (all 64-bit versions)... it's completely capable of running this software.  I have well over 800GBs of free disk space to work with.  Running Windows 7 Professional 64-bit with all recent updates/service packs.

How do I get this software installed? Or who can I contact about resolving this issue ASAP?

11 REPLIES 11
Message 2 of 12
aaronhai
in reply to: pmiles2

Hi pmiles2,

Some suggesitions below:

- Delete all files in : C:\Users\yourusername\AppData\Local\Temp and C:\Windows\Temp

- Ensure full control/permission/security settings to the folder : C:\ProgramData\Autodesk 

- Disable User Access Control (UAC) in Windows or set it to Never Notify (requires a reboot)

- May want to re-download the installation file using other downloading means.

- Refer to this forum thread