Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Employee
alison.gangler
Posts: 125
Registered: ‎04-12-2010
Message 1 of 4 (5,806 Views)

AutoCAD installer says the product is already installed

5806 Views, 3 Replies
05-19-2011 12:29 PM

There have been a number of occasions where the AutoCAD installer is launched but for some reason does not complete. The Windows Installer mechanism is built so that the install will then roll back and clean any changes to the system. However, sometimes this does not happen as desired and when you try to launch the installer again, it tells you that the product is already installed.

 

In that case, please check the following areas in the registry and remove the keys, after backing up the registry:

 

1. Case where an aborted attempt to install the product and the reinstall attempt is blocked saying that the product is already installed. Browse to the following locations in the registry:

 

HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Installer\Products

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Installer\UserData\S-1-5-18\Products

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall

 

I usually search for the product name string in these locations and remove any keys from the GUID level. Backup the registry first, of course, prior to any editing.

 

2. If the install log shows that the install initialization is detecting the existence of a .mst file and cannot proceed because the .mst file is not found in the path listed, then look in the first key above for the string of the .mst file name and delete that key from the GUID level.

 

3. If the log fails due to the custom action, CheckForACADExistance, then browse to the INSTALLDIR, usually C:\Program Files\<Product Name> and remove the <Product Name> directory.

 

Then launch the install again.

 

 Autodesk.png

___________________________________________________________

If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly!



Alison Gangler
IPG - ICP Install Engineer
Autodesk, Inc.

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,478
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 2 of 4 (5,795 Views)

Re: AutoCAD installer says the product is already installed

05-19-2011 01:51 PM in reply to: alison.gangler

Thanks for the additional input Alison.  :smileyhappy:  Additional information can be found below:

 

Installation problems may be resolved using the Microsoft Installer Clean Up Utility. For more information on this program, please my forum post here:

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Installation-Licensing/Microsoft-Installer-Clean-Up-Utility-for-Add-Re...

For more information on the Autodesk KB Support article concerning the clean uninstall of Autdoesk products, see this link:

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=2887771&linkID=9240617

Employee
alison.gangler
Posts: 125
Registered: ‎04-12-2010
Message 3 of 4 (5,784 Views)

Re: AutoCAD installer says the product is already installed

05-20-2011 11:26 AM in reply to: TravisNave

Thank you for the additional information, Travis.

 

While we have had some success with the msicuu2.exe utility when helping customers, we have also seen numerous adverse effects on some systems. Please use the utility at your own risk.

 

Alison Gangler, Autodesk Product Support

 

Autodesk.png

___________________________________________________________

If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly!



Alison Gangler
IPG - ICP Install Engineer
Autodesk, Inc.

New Member
rjanes
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-06-2014
Message 4 of 4 (514 Views)

Re: AutoCAD installer says the product is already installed

08-19-2014 05:33 AM in reply to: alison.gangler
This worked for me with AutoCAD 2015. Thanks, Joseph GPRC
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.