Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Active Member
adam.lepp
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-30-2013
Message 1 of 14 (463 Views)
Accepted Solution

AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013 and 2012 on licensing server

463 Views, 13 Replies
04-30-2013 07:55 AM

Hello, I am an IT specialist for a local company, however my knowledge of Autodesk products is limited and most of what is currently set up was inplace before I arrived in the picture.

 

We have an AutoDesk licensing server (single) that has been serving AutoCAD Civil 3D 2012 licenses without issue.  We recently purchased some Civil 3D 2013 licenses and when I added them to the .lic file on the server all of the 2012 licenses stopped working.

 

Note, there are reservations involved in this setup (which theoretically are reservering the 2013 licenses for a group of users).

 

What is the proper way to add 2013 licenses without breaking the 2012 licenses?

 

Any and all help is much appreciated.

 

Thanks,

Adam

if all the licenses are on a current subscription

is their any reason why you can't generate a 2014 license

but keep the products at the version they are at currently

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,377
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 2 of 14 (451 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013 and 2012 on licensing server

04-30-2013 08:11 AM in reply to: adam.lepp
Active Member
adam.lepp
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-30-2013
Message 3 of 14 (443 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013 and 2012 on licensing server

04-30-2013 08:36 AM in reply to: DarrenP
Thank you for this link. I thought I was combining the files correctly, but now see this:

To properly combine identical products, all license files for that product must be created on the same date.

Am I able to recreate the older 2012 licenses file so that is created on the same date as the 2013?
*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,377
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 4 of 14 (441 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013 and 2012 on licensing server

04-30-2013 08:37 AM in reply to: adam.lepp

are these licenses on subscription?

Active Member
adam.lepp
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-30-2013
Message 5 of 14 (439 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013 and 2012 on licensing server

04-30-2013 08:41 AM in reply to: DarrenP
What does that mean or how can I find out? I was handed serial numbers and a product key, but was not involved in the purchasing of anything.

I do feel like I saw that term used somewhere though.
*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,377
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 6 of 14 (433 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013 and 2012 on licensing server

04-30-2013 08:43 AM in reply to: adam.lepp

you need to find out all of this first before doing anything else

i suggest you talk to whoever handles purchasing in your company and find out who they brought the licenses from

Active Member
adam.lepp
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-30-2013
Message 7 of 14 (432 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013 and 2012 on licensing server

04-30-2013 08:43 AM in reply to: adam.lepp

I believe that they are as my license files have the PACKAGE portion included.

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,377
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 8 of 14 (429 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013 and 2012 on licensing server

04-30-2013 08:44 AM in reply to: adam.lepp

both versions or just one?

Active Member
adam.lepp
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-30-2013
Message 9 of 14 (426 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013 and 2012 on licensing server

04-30-2013 08:45 AM in reply to: DarrenP
Both.
*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,377
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 10 of 14 (424 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013 and 2012 on licensing server

04-30-2013 08:47 AM in reply to: adam.lepp

if thats the case the 2013 license will be replacing the 2012 license

so you don't need to do the 2012 license file again just do the 2013 license file and the 2012 licenses will be included

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.