Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Active Member
charlesquintonplatt
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-06-2013
Message 1 of 11 (1,342 Views)

AutoCAD Architecture 2014 Setup.exe automatically initialising on start-up

1342 Views, 10 Replies
07-06-2013 12:57 PM

Hello,

 

I have recently successfully installed a trial-/student-version of the AutoCAD Architecture 2014 software, and the program runs perfectly fine without errors, bugs or glitches (that I have noticed so far). However, every time I log into my computer (Windows 7), the following two windows appear:

 

>"Please wait while Windows configures AutoCAD Architecture 2014 - English."

>"Run Setup.exe to install AutoCAD Architecture 2014 - English."

 

This occurs again after clicking 'OK' to the second window, closing both. I can't seem to find any reason why this would happen, in the settings of AutoCAD, or in a list of programs set to start on log-in, or online. I'd really appreciate some help in stopping this.

 

Thank you,

 

Charles.

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,588
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 2 of 11 (1,305 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Architecture 2014 Setup.exe automatically initialising on start-up

07-08-2013 08:51 AM in reply to: charlesquintonplatt

Welcome to the peer forum.

 

Do you have :

 

1.  Roaming profiles?

2.  Local Admin rights?

Active Member
charlesquintonplatt
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-06-2013
Message 3 of 11 (1,300 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Architecture 2014 Setup.exe automatically initialising on start-up

07-08-2013 09:12 AM in reply to: TravisNave
Thank you,

Yes, I'm on my own laptop not connected to any network, and have admin rights.
*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,588
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 4 of 11 (1,297 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Architecture 2014 Setup.exe automatically initialising on start-up

07-08-2013 09:31 AM in reply to: charlesquintonplatt

Do you get it if you right-click and run as Administrator? 

 

Sometimes installing Office or udpates moves your user to Debugger user for some strange reason.  You might double-check that your user is still Administrator.  Weirder things have happened. 

 

It could also still be a user rights issue.  You haven't moved any of your profile folders to a different drive or removable disk, have you?

Active Member
charlesquintonplatt
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-06-2013
Message 5 of 11 (1,292 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Architecture 2014 Setup.exe automatically initialising on start-up

07-08-2013 12:38 PM in reply to: TravisNave

I apologise if I wasn't clear the first time, but I mean that the two windows for installation appear as soon as I log into my account (the only and administrative account on this computer); the program runs absolutely fine and without problem when logged in, it is just the windows popping up on start-up. The windows for installation appear without me clicking on anything, as though they are set to run on log-in.

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,588
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 6 of 11 (1,286 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Architecture 2014 Setup.exe automatically initialising on start-up

07-08-2013 01:35 PM in reply to: charlesquintonplatt

Could be.  Anything in your startup group?  Still thinking it is permissions related. 

Active Member
charlesquintonplatt
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-06-2013
Message 7 of 11 (1,266 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Architecture 2014 Setup.exe automatically initialising on start-up

07-09-2013 01:08 PM in reply to: TravisNave

The only two start-up programs I could see that seemed related to AutoCAD were the Autodesk Sync (AdSync.exe) and AcShellExtension.AcContextMenuHandler (AcShellExtension.dll). Disabling both of these for start-up (to see what happened) yielded nothing, and the boxes still appeared.

I still can't find any permissions-based issues. Any suggestions where options could be in AutoCAD itself, if a solution lay there?

Active Member
charlesquintonplatt
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-06-2013
Message 8 of 11 (1,216 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Architecture 2014 Setup.exe automatically initialising on start-up

07-20-2013 07:40 AM in reply to: TravisNave
The problem is still occurring, and I can still find no solution - what exactly do you mean by 'permissions'?
New Member
jeigp_21
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-23-2014
Message 9 of 11 (793 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Architecture 2014 Setup.exe automatically initialising on start-up

02-23-2014 03:21 PM in reply to: TravisNave

perdon ami tambien me pasa lo mismo y yo los movi de carpeta lo pade la unidad C A A LA D y por ende ya no me quiere abrir autocad que solucion tengo porque vuelvo y descargo autocad  para estudiantes y no me da porfavor  gracias.

 

Product Support
dembkod
Posts: 652
Registered: ‎05-26-2010
Message 10 of 11 (778 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Architecture 2014 Setup.exe automatically initialising on start-up

02-24-2014 11:07 AM in reply to: charlesquintonplatt

 

charlesquintonplatt

 

Hello. It sounds like you have incorrect permissions on certain user folders. Check to make sure you have full access to these locations.

 

C:\Users\All Users\Autodesk

C:\Users\<the current user>\AppData\Local\Autodesk

C:\Users\<the current user>\AppData\Roaming\Autodesk

 

C:\Program Files\Common Files\Autodesk Shared

C:\Program Files\Autodesk

C:\ProgramData\FLEXnet

C:\ProgramData\Autodesk

 

Past this, I would create a new user account on the machine and test to see if the behavior persists.

 

Thank you for taking part in our community!

 



David Dembkoski
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!