Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
New Member
patrick.maas
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-07-2013
Message 1 of 4 (209 Views)
Accepted Solution

Autocad and Navisworks on one machine but must get licenses on different servers

209 Views, 3 Replies
02-07-2013 07:40 AM

I would like to use AutoCad and Navisworks on one machine, but each program has to get its license from a different server, but this does not happen, both applications go to the same server.

Although, on installing, I did specify which server each application has to use to obtain a license.

Also, in the Program Files/AutoDesk/Autocad and Program Files/AutoDesk/Navisworks , the LICPATH.LIC files are there, with the correct servername...

 

Another issue is to make 2 Navisworks installed on one machine, use a different server to obtain their licenses, for people who work for different departments.

 

Any ideas ?

 

Patrick

Why on earth are you running two servers for multiple Autodesk products?  It's no wonder you are having problems.  If you are unable to combine the license servers into one system for some crazy reason, then you might try adding both servernames to the ADSKFLEX_LICENSE_FILE system environment variable.

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=8385605&linkID=9240617

 

I definitely recommend reconciling your license managers into one location though.  You can separate licenses by department with an Options file.  Everything you could ever want to know about this is listed in my signature.

Hi Patrick,

 

As Travis explained in the above reply, you can 'RESERVE' licenses to a certain user or group by configuring a license option file, ADSKFLEX.OPT. You can also check License Administration Guide in LMTOOLS installation folder or technical solution:

How to control network license access using an options file (http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=7459915&linkID=9240617).

 

So, in this case, you can reserve 2 licenses for that department (defined GROUP) and no one outside the group will not be able to take those 2 licenses.

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,588
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 2 of 4 (204 Views)

Re: Autocad and Navisworks on one machine but must get licenses on different ser

02-07-2013 09:31 AM in reply to: patrick.maas

Why on earth are you running two servers for multiple Autodesk products?  It's no wonder you are having problems.  If you are unable to combine the license servers into one system for some crazy reason, then you might try adding both servernames to the ADSKFLEX_LICENSE_FILE system environment variable.

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=8385605&linkID=9240617

 

I definitely recommend reconciling your license managers into one location though.  You can separate licenses by department with an Options file.  Everything you could ever want to know about this is listed in my signature.

New Member
patrick.maas
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-07-2013
Message 3 of 4 (192 Views)

Re: Autocad and Navisworks on one machine but must get licenses on different ser

02-07-2013 10:32 PM in reply to: patrick.maas

It was not exactly my idea, I have two people that specifically want to use 2 licenses for their own department, and when they work for another project, they want to the licenses bought for that project....not wanting anybody else to thouch their own two licenses...politics, I guess..

 

Thanks for the advice

Product Support
inchul.lee
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎09-15-2008
Message 4 of 4 (173 Views)

Re: Autocad and Navisworks on one machine but must get licenses on different ser

02-11-2013 06:58 PM in reply to: patrick.maas

Hi Patrick,

 

As Travis explained in the above reply, you can 'RESERVE' licenses to a certain user or group by configuring a license option file, ADSKFLEX.OPT. You can also check License Administration Guide in LMTOOLS installation folder or technical solution:

How to control network license access using an options file (http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=7459915&linkID=9240617).

 

So, in this case, you can reserve 2 licenses for that department (defined GROUP) and no one outside the group will not be able to take those 2 licenses.



Inchul Lee
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!