Installation & Licensing
Welcome to Autodesk’s Installation and Licensing Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Download, Installation, and Licensing topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

AutoCAD 2017 and Microsoft Deployment Toolkit (copyprofile issues)

20 REPLIES 20
SOLVED
Message 1 of 21
owen66
2797 Views, 20 Replies

AutoCAD 2017 and Microsoft Deployment Toolkit (copyprofile issues)

I've been using Microsoft Deployment Toolkit (MDT) for a few years and have only recently run into this issue.

I build a VM completely (applications and Windows profile settings) under the built-in "Administrator" account. While logged in and installing AutoCAD, I set all the support paths (and other Options) to what I want and export that profile to "CADUser.arg"

I then capture that VM as a custom wim file. I create a task sequence to deploy the wim file and I edit the unattend.xml to set the "copyprofile" parameter to "true", thus applying all my settings that I set under the Administrator account to the "Default User" profile so that they apply to anyone that logs into the machine.

Once I deploy the image, I log in (after adding the particular user account to the local "administrators" group in Computer Management), and I open AutoCAD and import the profile ("CADUser.arg"). When I look at the support paths, they are retaining the "C:\Users\Administrator\..." path rather than updating to the currently logged in user path. In the past, this seemed to just work.

What steps am I missing, or what process should I be doing to make sure that the AutoCAD profile (CADUser.arg) that we import is generalized to work for anyone that logs in?

It looks like the registry key "HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Autodesk\AutoCAD\R21.0\ACAD-0001:409\RoamableRootFolder" might be the cuplrit and needs to be edited for each new user. I'm just curious how other people are doing their AutoCAD deployments.