Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Active Member
Remote24
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-17-2014
Message 1 of 11 (1,074 Views)

AutoCad 2014 slow on network

1074 Views, 10 Replies
02-17-2014 05:51 AM

hello.

We have a problem, we have installed 2014 on a couple of computers. And it´s very slow to create a new file, or just to browse through network directories. Even slow while browsing on c:\, but when we unplugg the network cable its going very fast. Then we can create a new file, and browse C: very fast.

 

So we think its something with Autocad and network...

We have googled it, and found that many others seems to have the same problem, and we have tested alot of things, but nothing works.

 

 

 

We can use Windows browser, and we can browse through all directories on the networkdrive as fast as if it was a localdrive. So its not networkspeed.

 

 

If someone have an Idea we would be very happy, best regards Clas

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,636
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 11 (1,068 Views)

Re: AutoCad 2014 slow on network

02-17-2014 06:06 AM in reply to: Remote24
ProcessMonitor is a freeware that will let you know what's going on with your PC as you start AutoCAD and access files: grab it and find out what's going on.
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Active Member
Remote24
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-17-2014
Message 3 of 11 (1,048 Views)

Re: AutoCad 2014 slow on network

02-17-2014 11:15 AM in reply to: pendean

Have downloaded this.. .and it makes som things i think is maybe wrong.. or wiered..

When I browse the shared folder, it does as the picture... CreateFile   c:\windows\csc\v2.0.6\namespace\(the IP adress to the shared folder)

Then says NAME NOT FOUND

 

Could this be the problem? and WHy!?

2014-02-17 20-07-14.jpg

Active Member
Remote24
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-17-2014
Message 4 of 11 (979 Views)

Re: AutoCad 2014 slow on network

02-26-2014 07:37 AM in reply to: Remote24

If I google Autocad Slow on Network.. I get over 1million hits.

 

But I cant find any solution for this...

 

Ist there anyone who have a solution for this???

 

 

*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,404
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 5 of 11 (967 Views)

Re: AutoCad 2014 slow on network

02-26-2014 02:35 PM in reply to: Remote24

Without someone physically sitting at your computer, a definitive "Do this, and this, then that" solution isn't very likely.

 

Now, stupid question time: did you install AutoDesk 360?  Are you automatically logging on at start-up?  I'm thinking *perhaps* everybody is automatically synch'ing their work and settings to the 360 cloud service.  Might also want to check to see if Content Service is running and consuming resources; the initial index build can take some time.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Active Member
Remote24
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-17-2014
Message 6 of 11 (953 Views)

Re: AutoCad 2014 slow on network

02-26-2014 11:35 PM in reply to: dgorsman

Nope its not 360... just standard Autocad 2014 with SP1.

The thing isnt that it takes for ever, but for every folder we click on it takes about 1-2second to display the contet of that folder.

But in the windows browser its in 0seconds.

And when we are going to open up a projekt it can be under 6levels of folders. And in a normal browser we would have opend it in just a sec.

But in Autocad we have to wait for every folder to be shown. And we opening a lot of projekts under a normal day. So its frustrating for everyone to have to wait.

 

Also Saving files takes a while.

When we click Save,  the blue bar in the bottom goes very fast, and the file is saved very fast, but then after its saved AutoCad freezes for 5-10 seconds. Also anoying, and it dosent happends on lokal disk like C:\

 

File saving, moving and copying, goes very fast in windows browser. So its not a network issue. 50-60mbit/s     response time 25ms 

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,636
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 7 of 11 (946 Views)

Re: AutoCad 2014 slow on network

02-27-2014 05:10 AM in reply to: Remote24
Autodesk 360, not AutoCAD 360, is part of AutoCAD 2014 and if you did nothing to it it's on and tapping the internet all day long. You can uninstall Autodesk 360 anytime, but it installs whether you want it or not.
Now reread dgormans reply and try turning it off (OPTIONS) or uninstalling it (Windows Uninstaller).

Another test: Does AutoCAD speed up if you disconnect from your network and work locally? Don't need to hear about how you only work from the server, this is a test, only a test.
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Active Member
Remote24
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-17-2014
Message 8 of 11 (934 Views)

Re: AutoCad 2014 slow on network

02-27-2014 12:14 PM in reply to: Remote24

I have now uninstalled 360... no diffrence

 

 

and yes autocad does speed up if i disconnect network

Active Member
Remote24
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-17-2014
Message 9 of 11 (879 Views)

Re: AutoCad 2014 slow on network

03-14-2014 01:27 AM in reply to: Remote24

And noone else have this problem?

"Autocad Slow on Network" still gives over 1million hits on google, and no one seems to have a solution?

Valued Contributor
mdellunto
Posts: 86
Registered: ‎01-14-2013
Message 10 of 11 (415 Views)

Re: AutoCad 2014 slow on network

06-06-2014 01:38 PM in reply to: Remote24

 I thought my engineer was crazy when he first said this but he has the same problem with Autodesk Inventor and says disconnecting his ethernet cable speeds things up like crazy.

 

I believe he said that if he is not connected to vault it works faster as well. Not sure if you are using vault?

 

Also maybe its a proxy thing? I know autodesk has a hard time with proxy servers.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.